Artist News Business News Digital Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Kim Petras, Metallica, A$AP Rocky, more

By and | Published on Friday 20 January 2023

Kim Petras


SoundCloud has appointed Emmy Lovell as its Global Head Of Music. Formerly at Warner Music, Lovell joined Napster as Chief Strategy Officer in 2021, becoming CEO last year following that company’s acquisition by Hivemind and Algorand. In her new job she will work “closely with artists, managers and labels worldwide” to “build the relationships, capabilities and insights that connect and deepen the relationship between SoundCloud’s passionate fans and their favourite artists”.

Warner Chappell in Italy has promoted Riccardo Loda to the role of Head Of A&R, reporting in to Santiago Menéndez-Pidal, President of Southern Europe for the Warner music publisher, who says: “Riccardo is a brilliant A&R exec who has built great relationships with artists, managers and labels across Italy and beyond over the last decade”.



Kim Petras has released new single ‘Brrr’.

Metallica have released new single ‘Screaming Suicide’. Says James Hetfield: “’Screaming Suicide’ addresses the taboo word of suicide. The intention is to communicate about the darkness we feel inside. It’s ridiculous to think we should deny that we have these thoughts. At one point or another I believe most people have thought about it. To face it is to speak the unspoken. If it’s a human experience, we should be able to talk about it. You are not alone”. New album ‘72 Seasons’ is out on 14 Apr.

A$AP Rocky has released new single ‘Same Problems?’ He also told Zane Lowe on Apple Music 1 that a new album is on the way. “It’s finished and we’re just putting the finishing touches on it”, he said. “The new stuff is me being vulnerable, and it’s just no filter, and just where I’m at, at my stage. My age and how I see things, my peers, the younger kids, the older cats, it’s just my perspective”.

Headie One has released new single ‘Martin’s Sofa’.

Alison Goldfrapp has released a new collaboration with Claptone, called ‘Digging Deeper’. “In ‘Digging Deeper’, I’m effortlessly gliding through air, on a gloriously hot breezy night arriving at a blissed-out dancefloor on the island of my dreams”, says Goldfrapp.

Krept & Konan have released new single ‘Dat Way’, featuring Abra Cadabra.

Kali Uchis has released new single ‘I Wish You Roses’. “This song is about being able to release people with love”, says Uchis. “It could be a friend, a lover, or someone else, but the point is to celebrate releasing people from your life without being resentful or bitter”.

Sleep Token have released their third single of the year, ‘Granite’. The track arrives just as the band kick off UK tour dates. They are due to play Bristol Academy tomorrow night, followed by the Hammersmith Apollo in London (moved from Brixton Academy) on Sunday.

Meet Me @ The Altar have announced that they will release their debut album ‘Past // Present // Future’ on 10 Mar. Here’s recent single ‘Say It To My Face’.

Maps have released new single ‘Fever Dream’. His new album ‘Counter Melodies’ is out on 10 Feb.

Overmono have release new single ‘Is U’ and announced that their debut album ‘Good Lies’ will be out on 12 May. Of the LP, they say: “Across the last two years, we have spent so much time on the road, making music whenever we could. Moving around all the time was always really inspiring and got us experimenting a lot and having fun with how we created chords or chopped and pitched vocals. This album is really a letter of love to the journey so far and marks where we want to take things”.

The Waeve – Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall – have released new single ‘Over And Over’, ahead of the release of their eponymous debut album on 3 Feb.

Silver Moth – a band made up of Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, Elisabeth Elektra, Evi Vine, Steven Hill, Abrasive Trees’ Matthew Rochford and Ben Roberts, and Burning House’s Ash Babb – have released ‘Mother Tongue’, the first single from their debut album ‘Black Bay’, which is out on 21 Apr.

Algiers have released new single ‘I Can’t Stand It!’, featuring Future Islands’ Samuel T Herring and Boy Harsher’s Jae Matthews. “It’s a very personal song about a devastating loss of someone I believed to be the love of my life which nearly ended in my suicide”, says frontman Franklin James Fisher. “I think the song’s narrative arc reflects the sense of dread and the path that led me to that moment”. Their new album ‘Shook’ is out on 24 Feb.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |