Artist News Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Kobalt, The Struts & Robbie Williams, Finneas, more

By and | Published on Thursday 3 September 2020



Kobalt has renewed its partnership with Nashville-based music publisher SMACKSongs, and will continue to provide admin, creative and sync services for the whole SMACKSongs catalogue. Kobalt Nashville GM Jesse Willoughby is “honoured”. SMACKSongs SVP Development Robert Carlton is “excited”.



The Struts have released a new collaboration with Robbie Williams, ‘Strange Days’, taken from the band’s upcoming album of the same name. “We did a vocal for a wonderful song that has been gifted my way”, says Williams. “It’s been an absolute pleasure and a privilege to listen to [frontman Luke Spiller] sing. It’s great to be a fan of someone and then a part of this recording. It’s like having a hero here and I genuinely mean that”.

Finneas has released new solo single ‘What They’ll Say About Us’. “This song is dedicated to all who have had to endure this year”, he says. “I hope this song can offer some sort of comfort to those who may need it”.

Corey Taylor has released new solo single ‘HWY 666’, the opening track from his debut solo album ‘CMFT’, out on 2 Oct.

A new compilation titled ‘Good Music To Avert The Collapse Of American Democracy’ is set for release this Friday for 24 hours only. Put together by author Dave Eggers, it will feature previously unreleased music by REM, Hayley Williams, The National’s Matt Berninger, Angel Olsen and more. Proceeds will be donated to the Fair Fight voters rights charity. Full tracklist and details here.

Bring Me The Horizon and Yungblud have released new collaborations ‘Obey’.

Thurston Moore has released new single ‘Siren’. His new album, ‘By The Fire’, will be released on 25 Sep. Moore and his band are also set to play a socially distanced show at La Sirène in La Rochelle on 6 Nov.

Foxes has released new single ‘Friends In The Corner’.

Zhala has released new single ‘Holes’. Signed to Robyn’s Konichiwa Records in 2014, she remains the only artist on the label, other than Robyn herself.

Shygirl has released new single ‘Freak’.

Peter Broderick has released new album ‘Blackberry’, his first vocal album since 2015. Physical versions will be out on 30 Oct.

A Lily has announced his fifth album ‘Sleep Through The Storm’, which will be out through Bytes on 16 Oct. From it, this is ‘Endless Jasmine’.

Mera Bhai has released new single ‘Mañana Groove’, via Moshi Moshi.

iDKHOW has released new single ‘Leave Me Alone’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |