Artist News Business News Deals Digital Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers Live Business Management & Funding One Liners Releases

One Liners: Lil Wayne, MelodyVR, BandPage, more

By | Published on Thursday 3 May 2018

Lil Wayne

Other notable announcements and developments today…

• Get a daily news summary, our latest job ads and more via our Messenger bot. Click here to get started.

• Lil Wayne has signed a new deal with talent agency CAA, according to Billboard.

• Drahla have signed to Captured Tracks. The label will re-package their two singles and EP as one release, titled ‘A Compact Cassette’, on 18 May.

• Sony/ATV has extended its worldwide deal with songwriter Geoff Warburton, best known for his work with Shawn Mendes. Apparently. “We are very excited”, says Sony/ATV US co-president Danny Strick. “We’re so happy”, says Senior Director A&R Clio Massey. “I’m so THRILLED”, says Warburton.

• MelodyVR’s virtual reality music platform is now live, in an official sense, in the UK and US. “As an artist you’re always trying to break down the barrier between you and your fans”, says that Niall Horan, one of the company’s early adopters. “MelodyVR takes this to a whole new level”.

• The latest round of Music Export Growth Scheme funding has been dished out. A total of 20 British artists have received funding of just under £295,000 between them. They are Blanco White, Dream Wife, Editors, Emma Gatrill, Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes, Gavin James, George Fitzgerald, Heavyball, Jones, Kelly Lee Owens, Let’s Eat Grandma, Mic Lowry, Nina Nesbitt, Novo Amor, Otzeki, Paul Draper, Ry X, Shame, The Spitfires and Gemini.

• YouTube will finally shutdown the BandPage service it acquired in 2016 at the end of the month. In a statement, the company said that it had made the decision in order “to fully focus on developing the Official Artist Channel programme“.

• Plan B has released the video for ‘It’s A War’. His new album, ‘Heaven Before All Hell Breaks Loose’, is out this Friday.

• Calvin Harris and Dua Lipa have released the video for their single ‘One Kiss’.

• Troye Sivan is back with new single ‘Bloom’.

• Snow Patrol have released new track ‘What If This Is All The Love You Ever Get?’

• Peace are back with their new album this week, and with less than 24 hours to go before its release they’ve put out another single. Here’s ‘You Don’t Walk Away From Love’.

• Braids are back with two new tracks. Two! They are called ‘Collarbones’ and ‘Burdock & Dandelion’. The incorrect ordering of the name of that drink has really ruined my day.

• The Fin have released new track ‘Missing’. Their debut album, ‘There’, is set for release on 8 Jun, and they will play a launch show in London at Thousand Island the same day.

• Blood Orange has announced that he will play the Shepherds Bush Empire in London on 29 Oct. He recently released two new songs, ‘Christopher & 6th’ and ‘June 12th’.

• Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |