Artist News Brands & Merch Business News Deals Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Megan Thee Stallion, Doja Cat, Lorde, more

By | Published on Friday 11 June 2021

Megan Thee Stallion


Producer Robin Schulz has extended his deal with BMG and launched his own imprint Mentalo Music. “The extension of my publishing agreement puts an exclamation mark behind the satisfaction in terms of our collaboration and the establishment of the Mentalo Edition is a logical next step”, he says.

Warner Chappell has signed Emma Jean Thackray to a worldwide publishing deal. “I’m delighted to sign to Warner Chappell ahead of the release of my first full-length album and as I enter into the next stage of my career”, she says. “I never want to stay in one lane when it comes to my music and the team at Chappell encourage me to take risks and do what I feel is right. I’m looking forward to working together going forward”.

Home fitness company Liteboxer has partnered with Universal Music, with the latter licensing some tunes for the former’s Rhythm Technology equipment. “We all know working out is good for us, but the drudgery of getting on an exercise bike or heading out the door for a run keeps many of us from building healthy habits”, says Liteboxer CMO Scarlet Batchelor. “Our partnership with UMG will offer a generation raised on gaming a fitness option that they actually want to do”.



Megan Thee Stallion – adopting her Tina Snow alterego – is back with new single ‘Thot Shit’.

You need to know that Doja Cat has released new single ‘Need To Know’. Her new album, ‘Planet Her’, is coming next week. Don’t know if you need to know that.

Lorde has released new single ‘Solar Power’, and announced that an album of the same name is on the way too.

You want more Lorde? Yeah, well, she provides backing vocals on the new single from Clairo, titled ‘Blouse’. The song is taken from Clairo’s second album, ‘Sling’, which is out on 16 Jul.

French Montana is back with new single ‘FWMGAB’.

There’s a new single from HER out, called ‘We Made It’. She’s also announced that her debut album, ‘Back Of My Mind’, will be out next week.

Marina has shared the video for ‘Venus Fly Trap’ from her new album ‘Ancient Dreams In A Modern Land’, which is out today.

It’s about this time of year that people start calling their new singles the “song of the summer”. In the case of Tebey and Una Healy, they’ve literally called their new single ‘Song Of The Summer’.

CupcakKe has released new single ‘Huhhhhh’. That’s five h’s. Six if you count the first. Don’t forget that, whatever you do.

Machine Head have released a trilogy of new tracks: ‘Become The Firestorm’‘Rotten’ and ‘Arrows In Words From The Sky’. “These three songs represent Machine Head better than anything I could ever try to explain”, says the band’s Robb Flynn. “The way these songs grew and took shape over time tells us our future is more exciting than even we would like to admit. Being able to corral all the chaos, pain, confusion, and, yes, hope into music has never made me feel more alive”.

Jake Shears has released new single ‘Do the Television’.

Upsahl has released new single ‘Melatonin’.

Zeal & Ardor have released the video for recent single ‘Run’.

Jinnwoo has released new single ‘Your Table’. He describes the song as “a weird mix of nostalgia, regret and looming responsibility”, adding: “It’s a lot about old relationships, in particular the relationships that can exist between men; friendship, brotherhood, love, jealousy and sex”.

Avelino has released new single ‘Waze’. He’s also announced that he will release new album, ‘Ego Kills’, on 23 Jul.

Wuh Oh has released new single ‘Daddio’.

Newly signed to Flying Nun, Vera Ellen has released new single ‘You!’

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |