Artist News Business News Gigs & Festivals Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Music Export Growth Scheme, Lady Gaga, Taylor Swift, more

By | Published on Friday 28 February 2020

Lady Gaga


Record industry trade group BPI has published a report on its Music Export Growth Scheme, the government-funded initiative which supports independent artists and labels as they pursue new opportunities in new markets. Since its launch in 2014, MEGS has supported 242 projects with a total of £3.8 million in grants issued over sixteen funding rounds. The economic impact of the first fourteen rounds are measured in the report, estimating that “£36 million in exports revenue has been generated for the British music economy – £12 for every £1 invested in the scheme”. Download the report here.



Lady Gaga has released new single ‘Stupid Love’. Its video was shot entirely on an iPhone, which may or may not be a thing that’s still interesting these days. Steven Soderbergh made a whole feature film on iPhones two years ago, so probably not. But hey, discussing this non-novelty has sent me way over my word limit for this ‘one liner’, so if higher word counts was the aim, maybe there’s something in it. Or maybe I should just have said it’s the first single from her forthcoming sixth album.

Taylor Swift has released the video for ‘The Man’, in which she takes her beef with Scooter Braun visual.

Gorillaz have release their second ‘Song Machine’ track, ‘Désolé’, featuring Fatoumata Diawara.

Christine And The Queens has surprise released new EP ‘La Vita Nuova’, along with a short film of the same name.

The National have covered INXS’s ‘Never Tear Us Apart’ for new charity compilation ‘Songs For Australia’. The album is curated by Julia Stone, who also covers Midnight Oil’s indisputable classic ‘Beds Are Burning’.

Thundercat has shared the video for ‘Dragonball Durag’ from his new album ‘It Is What It Is’, out on 3 Apr.

Daniel Avery and Alessandro Cortini have released ‘Enter Exit’, the second track from their upcoming album ‘Illusion Of Time’.

Stephen Malkmus has released new single ‘Shadowbanned’. While listening to it, you can also play around with the new ‘Being Stephen Malkmus’ Instagram filter.

Laurel Halo will release her soundtrack to the film ‘Possessed’ on 10 Apr. From it, this is ‘Hyphae’.

Valentina has released new single ‘You Know Where My Happiness Went’. “I wrote this song after a five year relationship had just ended and I was looking for a place to live, staying on friends sofas”, she says. “With no microphone, the whole vocal was recorded into my laptop in my friends living room in one take as I wrote it. I didn’t change it as I liked that it captured that precise moment in time”.



Best Coast have announced that they will tour the UK in May, starting at The Great Escape in Brighton before taking in Manchester, London and Birmingham.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | |