Artist News Gigs & Festivals One Liners Releases

One Liners: Nickelback, Panic! At The Disco, Romy, more

By | Published on Wednesday 16 November 2022



Nickelback have released new single ‘High Time’, ahead of the release of their new album ‘Get Rollin’, which is out this Friday.

Romy has released new single ‘Strong’, featuring Fred Again. “‘Strong’ came from a moment in my life when I was processing past grief”, she says. “Whilst writing the lyrics I was thinking about my cousin Luis, we both have the shared experience of our mums passing away when we were young. I recognise in him the same trait I have which is to try and hold emotions down and put on a brave face. The song was a way to connect with these feelings, offer support and ultimately find a sense of release in the euphoria of music”.

Kelela has released new single ‘On The Run’ and announced that she will release new album ‘Raven’ on 10 Feb. “I started this process from the feeling of isolation and alienation I’ve always had as a black femme in dance music, despite its black origins”, she says. “’Raven’ is my first breath taken in the dark, an affirmation of black femme perspective in the midst of systemic erasure and the sound of our vulnerability turned to power”.

John Grant has released his version of American folk song ‘God’s Gonna Cut You Down’, taken from Netflix series ‘Inside Man’.

Emiliana Torrini & The Colorist Orchestra have released new single ‘Mikos’ and announced that they will release new album ‘Racing The Storm’ on 17 Mar. “When I am triggered by nice music, I see a movie happening in my mind”, says Torrini. “When writing that song I saw a girl in a school uniform standing at the edge of a harbour looking into a turquoise sea at the body of a girl. She hears the girl’s mother behind her looking for her at the market. She turns to look and then walks away not saying a word about it”.

Teleman have released new single ‘Easy Now I’ve Got You’. The track is taken from their new album, ‘Good Time / Hard Time’, which is out on 7 Apr. The band have also announced UK tour dates in April and May.

Post-hardcore supergroup Fake Names – featuring Minor Threat’s Brian Baker, SOA’s Michael Hampton, Refused’s Dennis Lyxzén, Girls Against Boys’ Johnny Temple, and Fugazi’s Brendan Canty – have released new single ‘Delete Myself’. The track is taken from their debut album, ‘Expendables’, which is out on 3 Mar.

Death Valley Girls have released new track ‘What Are The Odds’, the first single from their new album ‘Islands In The Sky’, which is out on 24 Feb. “When we wrote [2016’s] ‘I’m A Man Too’ we were trying to revisit No Doubt’s ‘I’m Just A Girl’ but through a new lens”, says the band’s Bonnie Bloomgarden. “’What Are The Odds’ is in the same way an investigation/revisitation of Madonna’s ‘Material Girl’ but with a DVG spin”.



Panic! At The Disco have announced a livestream performance, viewable at 7pm UK time on 8 Dec. Tickets cost $5 and are available here.

A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie has announced UK shows in Manchester, Birmingham and London in March. Tickets are on sale now. His new album, ‘Me Vs Myself’, is out on 9 Dec.

Dream Theater have announced UK shows in February, including a performance at the Hammersmith Apollo in London on 21 Feb. Tickets go on general sale on Friday.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | |