Artist News Business News Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Nonclassical, Bastille, Little Mix, more

By | Published on Friday 24 May 2019


Other notable announcements and developments today…

• The Nonclassical record label has appointed Natalia Franklin Pierce as Executive Director. “I am excited about the opportunity to lead Nonclassical, with its focus on bringing cutting edge experimental work to new audiences through its events and label”, she says. “It is an organisation I have long admired”. She will take over the role from Eleanor Ward in August.

• Bastille have announced a theatrical launch event for new album ‘Doom Days’. According to the blurb, “playwright Charlotte Bogard Macleod has fused 3D sound and storytelling inspired by the new album, to create a special immersive theatrical experience. Three intriguing stories intertwine and fans will select which character’s story to follow – using headphones – while ‘Doom Days’ scenarios are acted out around them”. If you can’t get along to 9294 Studio in Hackney to see it live, the whole thing will be livestreamed on YouTube too. Here’s a trailer.

• Little Mix have launched a new YouTube series called ‘Mix It Up’, in which they will do stuff and film it to put on YouTube. In episode one, they cook for each other and have a right old time. I have added it to my ‘Popstars making food’ playlist for you.

• Madonna has released the video for new single ‘Crave’, featuring Swae Lee.

• Emeli Sandé has released new single ‘Extraordinary Being’. It’s taken from her new album ‘Real Life’, which is out on 21 Jun, and also features on the soundtrack to new X-Men movie ‘Dark Phoenix’, which is out on 5 Jun.

• Five Seconds Of Summer have released new single ‘Easier’. “I truly believe that ‘Easier’ is the beginning of the best era for 5SOS”, says frontman Luke Hemmings confidently

• Chase And Status have released the video for new track ‘Murder Music’, featuring Kabaka Pyramid.

• Underworld will release new album ‘Drift Songs’ on 25 Oct, concluding their year-long ‘Drift’ project. Here’s new single ‘Listen To Their No’. They’ve also announced that they will play Wembley Arena on 7 Dec.

• Lighthouse Family have released another new single ‘Light On’. It’s just not stopping.

• Those Kaiser Chiefs have announced new album ‘Duck’. It’s out on 26 Jul. Here’s new single ‘Record Collection’.

• Girlpool have released the video for ‘Minute In Your Mind’, taken from new album ‘What Chaos Is Imaginary’.

• Amnesia Scanner have released new track ‘AS Lose’.

• Objekt has released the video for ‘Dazzle Anew’, taken from recent album ‘Cocoon Crush’.

• Jesca Hoop has released new single ‘Red, White And Black’. Her new album, ‘Stonechild’, is out on 5 Jul.

• Coucou Chloe has released new single ‘Silver B’. Her new EP, ‘Naughty Dog’, is out next week.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |