Artist News Business News Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Olivia Rodrigo, Skepta & Pop Smoke, Vince Staples, more

By and | Published on Friday 18 June 2021

Olivia Rodrigo


Believe and TuneCore have opened a new Benelux office to be led by Nikolaas De Belie. “Due to the pandemic, digital growth in Benelux has accelerated”, he says. “More than 80% of Dutch music revenue now comes from streaming, with independent artists and labels becoming stronger than ever before. With our expertise, data and technology in Benelux, Believe and TuneCore are uniquely positioned to quickly become the leading digital music distribution partner of the independent music community here”.

BMG has promoted Shane Cosme to SVP International Marketing in the US. “I am pleased to have such a strong international team in the US and the promotion of Shane Cosme is well deserved”, says Fred Casimir, EVP Global Repertoire & Marketing.



300 Entertainment has launched a DIY distribution platform called Sparta – albeit a DIY distribution platform with a selection process a bit like AWAL. “Sparta empowers independent artists to plug into two of 300’s core tenets: speed and flexibility”, say the firm’s Kevin Liles and Rob Stevenson. And whose doesn’t love a bit of speed and flexibility?



Olivia Rodrigo has released new song ‘The Rose Song’. The track will appear in an upcoming episode of ‘High School Musical: The Musical: The Series’, in which Rodrigo stars.

Skepta and Pop Smoke have released their contribution to the ‘Fast & Furious 9’ soundtrack, ‘Lane Switcha’. The track also features A$AP Rocky, Juicy J and Project Pat.

Vince Staples has released new single ‘Law Of Averages’. The track is taken from his new album, ‘Vince Staples’, which will be out on 9 Jul.

Bullet For My Valentine are back with new single ‘Knives’.

As we edge closer to the release of her new album, ‘Pink Noise’, on 2 Jul, Laura Mvula has released a new collaboration with Biffy Clyro’s Simon Neil, called ‘What Matters’.

Kojey Radical has released two new tracks, ‘2FS’ and ‘Woohaa’. “Hard food not fast food; the album is being prepared but I wanted to serve up something to hold the appetite”, he says. “Eat up – these two [songs] are friendly reminders I can rap circles around your favourite as a snack. I’m a problem when I’m hungry”.

Idris Elba has released new single ‘Fudge’, featuring Eliza Legzdina.

Tove Styrke has released new single ‘Mood Swings’.

Banks is back with ‘The Devil’. That’s a single called ‘The Devil’, just to be absolutely clear. She says of the track: “The devil is about being stronger than the demons that haunt you. About rebirth and transformation into the forces of nature we were born to be”.

Bad Boy Chiller Crew have released new single ‘Free’.

Peyton has released new single ‘Don’t U Wanna Fly’.

Kat Von D has released new single ‘I Am Nothing’, taken from her new album ‘Love Made Me Do It’, which is out on 27 Aug.

Scandal have released new single ‘Ivory’.



Mastodon will play an acoustic livestream show from the Georgia Aquarium on 16 Jul. Tickets here.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |