Artist News One Liners Releases

One Liners: Post Malone, SZA & Doja Cat, Jesy Nelson, more

By | Published on Friday 14 April 2023

Post Malone


Post Malone has released new single ‘Chemical’, taken from his upcoming fifth album.

Doja Cat features on a new remix of ‘Kill Bill’ by SZA.

Eighteen months on from her debut solo single, ex-Little Mix singer Jesy Nelson is back with new track ‘Bad Thing’.

Busted have released a new version of their song ‘Loser Kid’, featuring Simple Plan. “’Loser Kid’ has always been a favourite track of mine”, says the band’s Matt Willis. “It was the end of the first album and summed up that record. ‘Wore my sisters jeans’ is also a standout lyric from that time for me too. Still makes me laugh!”

Jorja Smith is back with new single ‘Try Me’. The song, she says, was inspired by “putting yourself out there, in front of a world that has many opinions, as it only ever used to be me really being my own critic. This is the first time I’m putting stuff out there that I can connect with right now”.

Alison Goldfrapp has released new single ‘NeverStop’, taken from her debut solo album ‘The Love Invention’, which is out on 12 May.

Public Image Ltd will release their first album for eight years – ‘End Of The World’ – on 11 Aug. It will feature their attempted Eurovision entry ‘Hawaii’ and new single ‘Penge’.

King Krule has announced that he will release new album ‘Space Heavy’ on 9 Jun. From it, this is new single ‘Seaforth’. There will also be a series of live ‘outstore’ performances in venues around the UK linked to local record shops alongside the LP release.

Girl Ray will release their third album ‘Prestige’ on 4 Aug. Out now is new single ‘Hold Tight’. “Lyrically this song is about how appreciative I am to have found my partner, and how my mental load feels so much lighter and easier to bear now that I’m with her”, says frontwoman Poppy Hankin. “The production on this takes some inspiration from Haim’s incredible record ‘Women In Music Pt III’, and features a subby drum loop inspired by Atlanta’s hip hop scene”.

Water From Your Eyes have released new single ‘True Life’. The song, they say, “is our Neil Young-inspired quasi-nu metal stomp. The bridge was initially meant to contain lyrics from ‘Cinnamon Girl,’ but Neil Young’s lawyers wouldn’t let us use them. Now they are about how Neil Young wouldn’t let us use his words. The rest of the song deals with life and assorted complications of the material world”. Their new album ‘Everyone’s Crushed’ is out on 26 May.

Minor Conflict will release their debut EP ‘Bright Lights, Dead City’ on 9 Jun. New single ‘White Ring Binder’ is out now. The band say of the song; “’White Ring Binder’ is about people sharing really intimate things with strangers through poetry. It’s also about the connection we make with musicians even when we’ve never met them: the power of music to connect with others and ignite their creativity but also the effect that has on the people involved”.

Bad Dreems have released new single ‘New Breeze’. “We looked forward to a utopia at the end of the pandemic, but life is never that simple. You end up just pissing in a different breeze”, says guitarist Alex Cameron of the inspiration for the song. Their new album ‘Hoo Ha’ is out on 19 May.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | |