Artist News Business News Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Post Malone & The Weeknd, Travis Scott, Silk Sonic, more

By | Published on Friday 5 November 2021

Post Malone


Chris Gobalakrishna and Jonathan Serbin have been named as the new Co-Presidents of Warner Music Asia. “Chris and Jonathan are hugely talented and experienced execs who’ve already been very impactful at Warner Music Asia”, says Warner’s President Of International for Recorded Music, Simon Robson. “Their skills complement each other perfectly and make for a formidable partnership, which will be hugely beneficial to growing the success of Warner Music’s domestic and international artists in Asia and beyond”.



Post Malone and The Weeknd have teamed up for new single ‘One Right Now’. The track is lifted from Post Malone’s upcoming fourth album.

Travis Scott has released two new tracks, ‘Escape Plan’ and ‘Mafia’.

Silk Sonic – aka Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak – are back with new single ‘Smokin Out The Window’. Their album, ‘An Evening With Silk Sonic’, is out on 12 Nov.

Slipknot have released new single ‘The Chapeltown Rag’. “It’s a punisher man”, says vocalist Corey Taylor of the track. “It’s classic Slipknot. And it’s frenetic. But lyrically, it’s coming from a point of talking about the various manipulations that can happen when social media meets media itself. And the different ways that these manipulations can try to pull us in different directions, in the fact that we’re all becoming addicts to it, which is very, very dangerous”.

Westlife have unveiled new single ‘My Hero’. Not a Foo Fighters cover, sadly. It was co-written by Ed Sheeran and Steve Mac though. “‘My Hero’ has such beautiful lyrics. It is a powerful, heartfelt song which has such a strong meaning for all of us”, say the band. “The single reminds us of the heroics people have shown over the last eighteen months and it also reflects on our own loved-ones who so often have been our own personal heroes”.

Lorde has released a deluxe edition of her latest album ‘Solar Power’, featuring two new tracks, ‘Helen Of Troy’ and ‘Hold No Grudge’. “These songs were fun explorations on the album journey”, she says. “They didn’t quite fit into the tracklist for whatever reason but they’re both big tunes”. This week she also put out a video for album track ‘Fallen Fruit’.

Jvck James has released new single ‘Love In The Club’. He says: “‘Love In The Club’ is new Jvck era. Now that we’re ‘outside’, I wanted to make something for everyone to dance to. The song is about being cautious of falling in love in the club, although sometimes we can’t help ourselves”.

Foals are back with new single ‘Wake Me Up’. “With ‘Wake Me Up’, I just wanted to write a song about transporting yourself to a better, idyllic situation”, says frontman Yannis Philippakis. “I think we all had that feeling of the last eighteen months being like a weird fever dream that felt surreal but very affecting. I think we all wished we could have woken up somewhere else at various points”.

TNGHT – aka Hudson Mohawke and Lunice – are back with their first new track since 2019, ‘Tums’.

Teedee has released his TikTok hit ‘Love Me’ on streaming services.

Sega Bodega has released new single ‘I Need Nothing From You’, which was co-written with Bea1991. The track is taken from his new album, ‘Romeo’, which is out next week.

Reef have announced that they will release their new album – produced by former Duran Duran guitarist Andy Taylor – on 15 Apr next year. Titled ‘Shoot Me Your Ace’, the title track is out now. “It’s the sound the world needs right now”, insists vocalist Gary Stringer. There will also be UK tour dates in April too.

Pictish Trail will release new album ‘Island Family’ on 18 Mar. He’s released two new tracks from it, ‘Island Family’ and ‘Melody Something’. Tour dates have also been set for March and April next year.

Chaii has released new EP ‘Pineapple Pizza’. Here’s the video for the title track.

BXKS has released the video for ‘321’, featuring Oscar #Worldpeace. The track is taken from her new mixtape ‘Hack The Planet’, which is also out today.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |