Artist News Business News Deals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Rick Nielsen, McFly, Kelly Lee Owens, more

By | Published on Wednesday 5 August 2020

Mojo Music And Media


Mojo Music & Media has acquired a 50% stake in the catalogue of Cheap Trick’s Rick Nielsen. “I’d almost given up on the chance of finding a publisher who actually knew all my songs and had a vision for how to keep them alive for another 1000 years or so”, says Nielsen, not completely understanding how copyright terms work. The deal covers more than 400 songs.



Arjun Pulijal has been promoted to SVP Marketing for Universal’s Capitol Records in the US. “Arjun has a remarkable ability to bring an artist’s vision to life and to create the impactful moments that are key to any successful marketing campaign”, says Capitol Music Group President Jeff Vaughn.

BMG has promoted Tim Reid to SVP Repertoire & Marketing for BMG Recorded Music in the US. “He is an exceptional and highly respected executive inside the artist and management community”, says his immediate boss Thomas Scherer.



McFly have released the video for new single ‘Happiness’.

Blink 182 drummer Travis Barker has released a new collaboration with Run The Jewels, titled ‘Forever’. All profits from the release will be donated to the Next Level Boys Academy.

The Streets have released the video for ‘None Of Us Is Getting Out Of This Alive’, featuring Idles.

Toddla T has teamed up with Miraa May for an ode to the Notting Hill Carnival, ‘Carnival Love’.

Kelly Lee Owens has released a new collaboration with John Cale, ‘Corner Of My Sky’. “I knew with this album I needed to connect with my roots and therefore having the Welsh language featured on the record felt very important to me”, she says. “Once the music for the track was written and the sounds were formed, I sent the track straight to John and asked if he could perhaps delve into his Welsh heritage and tell the story of the land via spoken-word, poetry and song”.

Hudson Mohawke has released a new collection of rarites and unreleased tracks, titled ‘BBHE’.

FKA Twigs features on new 645AR single ‘Sum Bout U’.

All We Are have released new track ‘Heart Of Mine’. Their new album, ‘Providence’ is out on 14 Aug.

Cults have released new single ‘No Risk’. Their new album, ‘Host’, is out on 18 Sep.

Sean Nicholas Savage has released new single ‘I Believe In Everything’. His new album, ‘Life Is Crazy’, will be out on 2 Oct.

Sad13 – aka Speedy Ortiz’s Sadie Dupuis – has released new single ‘Oops…!’ “I wrote the song to process ways in which I’ve used people’s assumptions about me and my body to wield my own version of toxic masculinity”, she says.



The Great Escape has announced a series of gigs in multiple venues around Dublin and Glasgow in the run up to next year’s festival in Brighton in May. “We’re really pleased to announce we will be heading on tour to Glasgow and Dublin to launch our brand new music showcase The Road To The Great Escape in May 2021”, says the CEO of TGE promoter MAMA Festivals, Rory Bett. The line-up will be revealed in November.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |