Artist News Business News Industry People Media One Liners Releases

One Liners: Rina Sawayama & Elton John, Radiocentre, Marina, more

By and | Published on Thursday 15 April 2021

Rina Sawayama and Elton John


The trade body for the UK’s commercial radio sector, Radiocentre, has announced that Ian Moss, who previously headed up public affairs at record industry organisation BPI, will become its new CEO later this year. He takes over from Siobhan Kenny, who will stand down at the end of June. Since leaving the BPI he has been CEO of the trade body for academic and professional publishers.



Rina Sawayama has released a new version of her song ‘Chosen Family’ as a duet with Elton John. “Elton has been such a huge supporter from before the album, and when we finally met to record this song we clicked from the get-go”, she says.

Marina has announced that she will release her new album, ‘Ancient Dreams In A Modern Land’, on 11 Jun. Here’s new single ‘Purge The Poison’.

Exit Kid – aka former keyboard player of Years & Years Emre Türkmen and drummer Dylan Bell – have released new single ‘Munny’. The track, says Türkmen, is “an exhausted rant about the continued blurring of the lines between truth and lies. I felt compelled to vomit the words whilst watching the US election and the storming of the Capitol building”.

Jose Gonzalez has announced his first album for five years, ‘Local Valley’, which is set for release on 17 Sep. Here’s new single ‘Visions’. “The lyrics came to me in early February 2020 just as there were more and more tweets about the possible pandemic”, he says of the song. “The topic of the song felt very timely. You can hear the birds and ambient sounds from the veranda, along with a layer of synth loops in the background”.

Girl In Red has released new single ‘You Stupid Bitch’. “The core essence of this track is like, I’m obviously here for you, and I want to be with you, but you keep messing around with other people, and you keep getting broken”, she says. “It’s this really direct, straightforward track”. Her debut album, ‘If I Could Make It Go Quiet’, is out on 30 Apr.

Easy Life have released new single ‘Skeletons’.

Tirzah has released new single ‘Send Me’.

Charlotte OC has release two new tracks: ‘Bad Bitch’ and ‘Forest’. Both are taken from her new album ‘Here Comes Trouble’, which is out in October.

Chai have released new single ‘Let’s Love’, which serves as the theme tune for Japanese anime TV show ‘Dinosaur Biyori’.

Kučka has released new single ‘Eternity’. Her debut album, ‘Wrestling’, is out on 30 Apr.

Tramp Stamps have released new single ‘I’d Rather Die’ through their own Make Tampons Free label. Of the song, vocalist Marisa Maino says: “We were talking about how [guitarist] Caro and [drummer] Paige had both lost their virginity to a Rob and I’d taken a Rob’s virginity, so we went through all the guys’ names we had in common and threw them into the song”.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | |