Artist News Business News Deals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Robbie Williams, BTS, Miley Cyrus & Dua Lipa, more

By | Published on Friday 20 November 2020

Robbie Williams


Reservoir has announced a joint venture agreement with film score and soundtrack production company Atlantic Screen Music. The two companies will invest in a series of film score and soundtrack projects together. “We’re looking forward to building a strong partnership with one of America’s top independent publishers allowing [us] a stronger presence in the US market”, says Atlantic Screen CEO Simon Fawcett.



UK record label trade group BPI has announced the election of Snapper Music MD Fred Jude and the re-election of Absolute Label Services MD Henry Semmence to the trade body’s key management and policy forum the BPI Council.

Warner Music’s Elektra Music Group in the US has hired Jacob Fain as Senior Vice President, A&R and Head Of Research & Analytics. He was previously at Sony/ATV. Elektra co-Presidents Gregg Nadel and Mike Easterlin are both “THRILLED”.



Suede are inviting fans to contribute to their new album. “Anyone who wants to get involved should submit a voice recording”, they say. “For now we can say no more than that”. They then say a great deal more than that in a detailed set of instructions.



Robbie Williams has released a new pandemic-themed Christmas song ‘Can’t Stop Christmas’.

BTS have released the video for new song ‘Life Goes On’, taken from their new album ‘Be’, which is out TODAY – AAAAAAAARGH!

Dua Lipa and Miley Cyrus have released a new single together called ‘Prisoner’. Cyrus’s new album ‘Plastic Hearts’ is out next week.

Megan Thee Stallion has released a video for ‘Body’ from her debut album ‘Good News’, which is also out today.

Sia has released new single ‘Hey Boy’. The track is taken from her upcoming feature film ‘Music’, which stars Kate Hudson.

Fiona Apple has released the video for ‘Shameika’ from her latest album ‘Fetch The Bolt Cutters’. She’s also released a new track, ‘Shameika Says’, with the real life Shameika who inspired the earlier song.

Nas has released new track ‘Fallen Stars Flying’, taken from the soundtrack of new HBO series ‘Between The World And Me’.

James Blake has covered ‘The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face’.

Lana Del Rey has covered George Gershwin’s ‘Summertime’.

Slowthai will release his new album, ‘Tyron’, on 5 Feb 2021. Here’s new single ‘NHS’.

Danny Brown has released the video for ‘Savage Nomad’ from his ‘Uknowwhatimsayin¿’ album. He’s also announced that his annual Bruiser Thanksgiving show will this year be a livestream, taking place on 25 Nov. More info here.

Ava Max has released new single ‘My Head & My Heart’. The brand new track has also been added to her ‘Heaven & Hell’ album.

G Flip has released new single ‘I’d Rather Go To Bed’. “I think despite the fact the song is written about depression, it carries an almost promising tone of anticipation in the peace we all feel when we sleep and specifically dream”, she says.

ARO – aka Aimee Osbourne – has released new single ‘House Of Lies’.

FEMM have released the video for new Danny L Harle-produced track ‘Peach’. Their new album, ‘4040 Not Found’, is also out today.

Sibille Attar has released new single ‘Why U Lookin’. Her new album, ‘A History of Silence’, is set for release on 26 Feb.

Dry Cleaning have released new single ‘Scratchcard Lanyard’. “In the search for your true calling in life, it’s easy to try so many things that you end up confused”, say the band. “It can lead to an enormous build-up of frustration. You may fantasise about exacting revenge upon your real or imagined enemies. Ephemeral things and small-scale escapist experiences can provide some relief!”

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |