Artist News Gigs & Festivals One Liners Releases

One Liners: Ryan Adams, Japanese Breakfast, The Jonas Brothers, more

By | Published on Friday 1 March 2019

Ryan Adams

Other notable announcements and developments today…

• Ryan Adams was reportedly dropped as headliner of this year’s BBC Radio 6 Music Festival at the last minute, before the line-up was announced. This follows allegations of sexual harassment and abuse made against the musician by a number of women. Ticketholders for his upcoming UK shows, which are currently still scheduled to go ahead, have also been demanding refunds in the wake of those accusations.

• Michelle Zauner – aka Japanese Breakfast – is to publish a memoir, titled ‘Crying In H Mart’, based on a New Yorker article of the same name published last year. The release date has not yet been announced.

• The Jonas Brothers have reunited and made some new music. The press release says they’re “arguably the definitive pop group of the 21st Century”. Is that in any way true? Don’t write in, I don’t care. Here’s new song ‘Sucker’.

• Carly Rae Jepsen has released two new songs, ‘Now That I Found You’ and ‘No Drug Like Me’. Totally should have mentioned that yesterday, soz.

• Solange has released her new album ‘When I Get Home’, after a week of hinting that something was on the way. It features appearances from Tyler The Creator, Gucci Mane, Panda Bear, Metro Boomin, Earl Sweatshirt, Dev Hynes and more.

• Ellie Goulding has released new single ‘Flux’, as she builds up to the release of her fourth album later this year.

• Gesaffelstein and Pharrell Williams have released new track ‘Blast Off’.

• Four Tet is back with new single ‘Only Human’.

• Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry will release new album ‘Rainford’ on 10 May. Says producer Adrian Sherwood: “It’s the most intimate album Lee has ever made, but at the same time the musical ideas are very fresh. I’m extremely proud of what we’ve come up as a piece of work”. From it, this is ‘African Starship’.

• Marina has released new track, ‘Superstar’. Her new album, ‘Love + Fear’, is out on 26 Apr.

• Matmos have released two new tracks from their upcoming album ‘Plastic Anniversary’ along with accompanying videos. They are ‘Thermoplastic Riot Shield’ and ‘Breaking Bread’.

• Anna Burch has released new single, ‘St Adalbert’. The track actually pre-dates her debut album, ‘Quit The Curse’. “It was my call not to include ‘St Adalbert’ on the record, partly because it was such an early effort and the feel was quite different from the others”, she says. “But it also had an emotional weight that I didn’t feel totally comfortable with at the time”.

• Eivør has released a new live version of her track, ‘Trøllabundin’. “The live show is my thing, and the songs truly come alive to me when I can reflect them back to an audience”, she says.

• Stella Donnelly has released new song ‘Tricks’. Her debut album, ‘Beware Of The Dog’, is out a week today.

• Pixx will release her new album, ‘Small Mercies’, on 7 Jun. From it, this is new single ‘Disgrace’.

• Pozi will release their debut album, ‘PZ1’, on 5 Apr. From it, this is ‘Watching You Suffer’.

• L7 will release their first album for 20 years, ‘Scatter The Rats’, on 3 May. Here’s new single ‘Burn Baby’.

• The National have announce five “unique events” in Paris, New York, London, Toronto and LA in April. The London one will take place at the Royal Festival Hall on 18 Apr.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |