Artist News One Liners Releases

One Liners: Sam Smith, Grimes, Tim Burgess, more

By | Published on Friday 14 February 2020

Sam Smith


Sam Smith‘s new album will released on 1 May, titled ‘To Die For’. The title track is out as a single today. “I’m more proud of this album than anything I’ve ever done”, says Smith. “I’ve really set myself free the last two years whilst writing this and I hope you can dance and relate to these stories”.

Grimes has released new single ‘Delete Forever’, which she says is about “losing friends to the opioid crisis and the self-hatred that arises when the grieving process mimics the behaviours that cost your friends their lives”.

Tim Burgess has released new single ‘Empathy For The Devil’, and announced that he will release new solo album, ‘I Love A New Sky’, on 22 May through Bella Union.

Producer RAC has released a cover of Third Eye Blind’s ‘Never Let You Go’, featuring Hilary Duff and Matthew Koma. “This started as an inside joke, something we were doing just for the fun of it”, says RAC. “I think you can hear that in the song. Sometimes the best things come out when you’re not really trying”.

Tom Misch and Yussef Dayes have announced collaborative album ‘What Kinda Music’, set for release on Blue Note on 24 Apr. Here’s the video for the title track.

Knxwledge has released two new singles, ‘Learn’ and ‘Howtokope’. Both are taken from his forthcoming album ‘1988’, out through Stones Throw on 27 Mar.

Coriky – comprising Fugazi’s Ian MacKaye and Joe Lally, and The Evens’ Amy Farina – have announced that they will release their debut album on 27 Mar. From it, this is ‘Clean Kill’.

Moaning have released new single ‘Fall In Love’. The track is taken from their new album ‘Uneasy Laughter’, out through Sub Pop on 20 Mar.

Scandal have released the video for ‘Tonight’, from their latest album ‘Kiss From The Darkess’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | |