Artist News Business News Industry People Labels & Publishers Management & Funding One Liners Releases

One Liners: Sony/ATV, MMF, Alex G, more

By and | Published on Thursday 18 June 2020



Sony/ATV has named Dinraj Shetty director of its new Indian office. “I am delighted with this new role of leading Sony/ATV India, where I will be looking at creating many opportunities to harness its creative fraternity of labels, musicians and songwriters”, says Shetty. “I look forward to giving them a platform to showcase their talent through the Sony/ATV global network to the world”.



Three new board members were appointed at the AGM of the UK’s Music Managers Forum yesterday: Kerry Harvey-Piper, Sumit Bothra and Vicky Dowdall. For the first time, the trade body’s board is equally split along gender lines. The MMF also formally launched its previously announced ReBuild programme that seeks to provide financial support to managers that have been hit particularly hard by the COVID-19 shutdown. Info here.



Alex G has returned to his original stage name, having gone by (Sandy) Alex G since 2017 due to a clash with another artist. So that’s nice for him. Exactly why this has happened now isn’t clear. But it has and we thought you’d be keen to know.



Tim Minchin has released new single ‘I’ll Take Lonely Tonight’. “When I started playing this tune on tour early last year, it became clear that it was really affecting people”, he says. “I thought this temptation tug-of-war might be something experienced more by touring musos… but I kept getting people – men and women equally – telling me that it really hit home for them”. His new album, ‘Apart Together’, is set for release in November.

Deftones have announced that they will release a compilation of remixes of tracks from their ‘White Pony’ album – titled ‘Black Stallion’ – to mark the classic LP’s 20th anniversary. Of the remixers, frontman Chino Moreno revealed: “We have a bunch of different people on it, some that actually inspired some of the writing of the original album”. One of those, the band confirmed, is DJ Shadow.

The Killers have released new single ‘My Own Soul’s Warning’. They’ve also announced that their postponed UK tour will now take place in May and June next year.

The Streets have released new single ‘I Wish You Loved You As Much As You Love Him’, featuring Donae’o and Greentea Peng. “This is a summer club song”, says Mike Skinner. Very poor timing, Mike.

Grimes features on Ashnikko‘s new single ‘Cry’.

J Cole has released new track ‘Snow On Tha Bluff’, which may or may not be about Noname.

Kojey Radical has released new single ‘Same Boat’, featuring Mereda.

Arca has released new single ‘Mequetrefe’. Her new album, ‘Kick I’, is out next week.

Yemi Alade has released the video for recent single ‘Boyz’.

Songhoy Blues have released new single ‘Worry’, taken from their upcoming third album. “The harshness of life still weighs on our societies and sinks many young people into a dead end”, say the band. “‘Worry’ is a positive energy that Songhoy Blues want to be a ray of hope for humanity. ‘Worry’ is about not stopping fighting because at the very end you will find the light”.

They are back with new single ‘Count Me In’.

Pnau have released new single ‘Lucky’, featuring Vlossom. Frontman Nick Littlemore says that the track “came at a time of deep reflection during winter in Sydney last year” and “represents that most golden future, shimmering just in the distance like over a frosty hill, approaching”.

Metronomy have released the video for ‘The Light’, from last year’s ‘Metronomy Forever’ album.

All We Are have announced that they will release their third album, ‘Providence’, on 14 Aug. From it, this is ‘Not Your Man’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |