Artist News Business News Deals Digital Media One Liners Releases

One Liners: SoundCloud, Raekwon, Ariana Grande, more

By | Published on Thursday 22 October 2020



SoundCloud has launched a new subscription tier aimed at DJs. It will allow said DJs to store tracks offline when using the platform as a source of music in approved DJing software. The lack of offline playback is a downside to many streaming service DJing integrations.



Scooter Braun’s Ithaca Holdings has signed a podcast development deal with Spotify. Its first show is ‘Country Shine’, about the Nashville music industry. “As an early investor in Spotify many years ago, we’ve collaborated closely with the entire team and have watched as they continue to trailblaze the industry”, says Braun.



Raekwon has announced that he will release his autobiography, ‘The Story Of Raekwon’, next year. “This is my story”, he confirms, “from being a wide-eyed kid full of hopes and dreams, through hard times and sadness and so many situations I’m amazed I survived. This is all of it, the good, the bad, the ugly, the whole truth and nothing but”.

Ariana Grande has announced that she will release new single ‘Positions’ tonight. TONIGHT! She said recently that her new album will be out this month. So next Friday then. Pre-save the single here .

Finneas has released new single ‘Can’t Wait To Be Dead’. “I’m happy for this song to mean anything to anyone who listens to it but to me, it’s a song about my relationship with the internet”, he says. “Especially in an election year. Especially during a pandemic. Sometimes, the internet makes me laugh, sometimes it makes me cry, sometimes it makes me hopeful. But sometimes, it really makes me wanna be dead”.

HER has released new single ‘Damage’.

Keith Richards has released a video for his 1992 solo single ‘Hate It When You Leave’. Better late than never. Coincidentally, the album the song is from, ‘Main Offender’, will be re-issued as a special vinyl release for Record Store Day this Saturday, and it comes with an additional seven-inch single featuring previously Japan-only track ‘Key To The Highway’ and the aforementioned ‘Hate It When You Leave’.

Aminé has released the video for ‘Woodlawn’ from his latest album, ‘Limbo’.

Ella Mai has released the video for recent single ‘Not Another Love Song’.

Yaeji has released ‘When In Summer, I Forget About The Winter’, which was previously only available on the CD release of her ‘What We Drew’ mixtape in Japan and South Korea.

Liturgy have announced new album ‘Origin Of The Alimonies’, which is set for release on 20 Nov. From it, this is ‘Lonely OIOION’.

Shygirl has released new single ‘Slime’, produced by Sophie, Sega Bodega and Kai Whiston. Her new EP ‘Alias’ is out on 20 Nov.

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard have announced that they will release their new album, ‘KG’, on 20 Nov. Here’s new single, ‘Automation’.

Lucrecia Dalt has released the video for ‘Ser Boca’, from her new album ‘No Era Sólida’.

MT Hadley has released new track ‘Suddenly’. It “was born out of an all too fleeting encounter”, he says. “I met her in Athens on the night I arrived there, and saw her every day the week I stayed. She always had to leave before the night was through because she lived on the outskirts of town. One night she took me to a truly dismal exhibition of violent graphic drawings. The evening was good, but the drawings were not. It was fairly easy to extend the song outward from this week of wishful romance. None of it is true, and yet it all is. She has heard the song but I did not elucidate the connection between the first lines and her name”. His new EP, ‘There Isn’t A Window That I Won’t Look Out Of’, is out on 12 Nov.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |