Awards Business News Digital Management & Funding One Liners Releases

One Liners: Spotify, Emeli Sandé, Benee, more

By | Published on Thursday 28 October 2021



Spotify has announced its latest batch of quarterly stats, with lots moving in an upwards direction. Premium subscribers were up 19% year on year to 172 million. Monthly active users – so premium and free subscribers together – also rose by 19% on Q3 2020 to 381 million. Revenues were up by 27% to 2.5 billion euros, thanks in part to a 75% growth in advertising revenue, which reached 323 million euros. The average revenue per user was 4.34 euros, up 4% on the same period in 2020.



The winners of this year’s Drake YolanDa Award have been announced. They are Emma Rawicz, Rosie Frater-Taylor, Martha Hill, Manik MC, Beka, Colectiva, Chibundu Onuzo, Ife Ogunjobi, Maz O’Connor and Lucy May Walker. Each receives a grant of £3000. Ten runners up also win £500 each.



Emeli Sandé has released a new collaboration with Jaykae, titled ‘Look What You’ve Done’. “It’s my first release that I have produced and it feels so good to have my full creative fingerprint on it”, says Sandé. “It’s been a true pleasure working with Jaykae and I’m so happy he jumped on the track. His flow, word play and delivery are phenomenal, he’s added something so very special. I hope it makes people fall in love, dream and of course dance!”

Benee is back with new single ‘Doesn’t Matter’. “I wrote ‘Doesn’t Matter’ during [a period] when I felt truly overwhelmed, anxious, and stuck”, she says. “I was diagnosed with OCD, which actually helped me understand myself better. This song ponders on what it would be like to feel truly carefree and how much easier life would be”.

Metronomy have announced that they will release their fourth album, ‘Small World’, on 18 Feb. The first single is ‘It’s Good To Be Back’. “I’ve been remembering what it was like as a kid when I’d be sitting in the backseat of my parents’ car and they’d be playing their music and I’d think ‘this is awful’, but there’d be one or two songs I would like”, says Joseph Mount. “I thought it would be fun to make that kind of album, and this is the song the kids might like. This is the ‘cool’ song”.

Underoath have released new single ‘Cycle’, featuring Ghostmane. “We listened to the first thing he sent, and just said, ‘that is it'”, says guitarist Tim McTague of getting the rapper on the track. “I don’t think any of us knew what we were looking for in the feature, but when I heard the take, lyrics and energy we were like, ‘oh shit – this is perfect'”.

Yaeji and Ohhyuk have teamed up for two new tracks, ’29’ and ‘Year To Year’. “When I was feeling a bit stuck and stagnant with music, Hyuk helped me find the joys of creating again, and this was my first time collaborating with someone so closely on music”, says Yaeji. “We spent many days together in the studio in Seoul, sometimes not even making music but just chatting about how we grew up and sharing meals together, and our musical collaboration blossomed as our friendship grew”.



Meet Me @ The Altar and Nothing, Nowhere have announced that they have left All Time Low‘s US tour, on which they were support acts. This follows a statement issued by All Time Low earlier this week in response to accusations of sexual misconduct, which they deny. Neither support band has commented directly on their reason for leaving the tour.



More Artist & Manager Awards winners have been announced. Mogwai will be handed the Pioneer Award, while Karma Artists will get the Writer/Producer Manager Award. The ceremony is set to take place at the Bloomsbury Big Top in London on 18 Nov.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | |