Artist News Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers Live Business One Liners Releases

One Liners: Stormzy, Haim & Taylor Swift, Lil Yachty, more

By | Published on Friday 19 February 2021



Stormzy has postponed the UK tour in support of his ‘Heavy Is The Head’ album for a second time. The shows were due to kick off in April, having already been pushed back from September. New dates are yet to be confirmed.



Roger Sanchez has signed to Sentric’s Black Rock. “I am very excited to be working with the Black Rock team”, he says. “Their bespoke approach to each artist resonated with me, and the knowledge and creativity of the entire team made it clear that this was who I wanted to work with to take my songwriting to the next level”.

Concord Music Publishing has signed drill producer Yosief Tafari, aka Yoz Beatz. “The deal means a lot to me and I’m grateful Concord believes in my music and vision”, says Tafari. “This is only the beginning of my journey”.



US independent label and label services business Empire has hired Suhel Nafar as VP Strategy & Market Development. “After working on different sides of the music industry, researching artists growth and studying data, I saw that Empire was where it’s at”, he says. “They’re not just distribution, label or publishing company – they’re partners with their artists, supporting their growth and with a goal to change the music industry to be the best for creators and culture”.



Haim have released a deluxe version of their ‘Women In Music Part 3’ album, which includes a new version of ‘Gasoline’ featuring Taylor Swift.

Lil Yachty has released new single ‘Hit Bout It’, featuring Kodak Black.

Mahalia has released new single ‘Jealous’, featuring Rico Nasty. “I made ‘Jealous’ on a sunny day at the end of summer last year”, says Mahalia. “It was a weird time… I was dealing with friends being super unsupportive about decisions I was making and I was struggling with navigating that”.

Kings Of Leon have released the video for new single ‘Echoing’.

Amy Shark has released new single ‘Love Songs Ain’t For Us’, featuring Keith Urban. Co-written by Ed Sheeran, the song is taken from Shark’s upcoming new album, ‘Cry Forever’, which is due out on 30 Apr.

Tom Odell is back with new single ‘Numb’. He’ll also play an online show with a Q&A on 10 Apr. Tickets for that here.

Trippie Redd has released new single ‘Geronimo’, featuring Deftones’ Chino Moreno.

José Gonzáles has released his first new music in six years with new single ‘El Invento’. “Every now and then I try to write lyrics in Spanish”, he says. “This time I succeeded!”

Andrew WK has released new single ‘Babalon’.

Throwing Snow is back with new single ‘Lithics’.

Balming Tiger have released new single ‘Just Fun’.

Art d’Ecco has released new single ‘Head Rush’.

The video for Rick Astley‘s ‘Never Gonna Give You Up’ video has been remastered in 4K for some reason.



Julien Baker has announced that she will perform an online show on 25 Mar to mark the release of her new album ‘Little Oblivions’ (which is actually out next Friday). Info and tickets here.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |