Artist News Business News Deals Digital Gigs & Festivals Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Sunnee, GESAC, Bring Me The Horizon, more

By | Published on Friday 26 June 2020



Universal Music has signed Chinese singer Sunnee – a former member of the girl group Rocket Girls 101 – to a global record deal. “Working with UMG, what hit me the most, is the uncompromising pursuit of high quality music”, she says. “I feel so privileged that I’m able to collaborate with top producers and songwriters here, and what I want to express through music is becoming clearer and clearer”. Her first single under the deal, ‘By Your Side’, is out now.



Pan-European collecting society grouping GESAC announced SACEM CEO Jean-Noël Tronc as its new President at its (virtual) AGM this week. “Under the current crisis, GESAC faces one of the greatest challenges of its existence, that demands steadfastness and determination, namely with the European Commission, in order to defend the authors, their societies and as well as culture itself”, says outgoing President, José Jorge Letria. “The new board, which I am honoured to continue to be a part of, will have the ability, with Jean-Nöel Tronc as President, to find the best solutions and answers”.



Bring Me The Horizon have released new single ‘Parasite Eve’. The song “came from an idea to write a survival horror song, but as the pandemic started to develop, the parallels were so similar it felt so close to the bone we decided to shelve it”, says frontman Oli Sykes. “As time went on, we started to feel how relevant it was and that instead of shying from it, that we should address the dark side, embrace it and process what’s going on. ‘Parasite Eve’ is our message of hope, wrapped in sadness and anger”.

Footage of Afrobeat drummer Tony Allen‘s final performances feature in a new short film, culled from two shows earlier this year promoting his recent ‘Rejoice’ album with Hugh Masekela. Speaking about the film prior to his death in April, Allen said: “I played two shows in London in March, which were meant to be the first of many ‘Rejoice’ shows this year. It was good to be playing these songs on stage so many years after the recording”.

Dirty Projectors have put out new EP ‘Flight Tower’ and released the video for a song from it, ‘Self Design’. In a statement accompanying the release, the band said: “Our time here is short and every day is precious. Black lives matter. Defund the police”.

Jonas Blue has released new single ‘Naked’, featuring Max.

Fantastic Negrito has released new single ‘I’m So Happy I Cry’, featuring Tarriona ‘Tank’ Ball. “I was really inspired to write ‘I’m So Happy I Cry’ the day after reading of Juice Wrld’s death”, Negrito says. “There are so many young artists suffering from what I perceive as mental illness. Imagine having everything you want in the world and still feeling the need to medicate until it kills you … I want to warn them that they are surrounded by people and companies who profit from the destruction of their mind, bodies, souls and ultimately their community”.

Lapalux will release new EP ‘Esravoinma’ through Brainfeeder on 3 Jul, featuring three new tracks and reworkings of others from his ‘Amnioverse’ album. Here’s one of the new ones, ’51 Endless Pulse’.

KO has released new single ‘Captain’.

Boris have announced that they will release new album ‘No’ on 11 Jul. From it, this is ‘Loveless’.



Trivium will perform a livestreamed show from Full Sail University in Florida on 10 Jul. Tickets are on sale here. “We had to get creative when we heard there was no touring this summer”, say the band. “We held off on the Zoom concerts and asked our creative/production team to come up with the biggest real-time live metal streaming event of the summer and what we now have to present to you is our show called ‘A Light Or A Distant Mirror'”.

Lianne La Havas has announced that she will livestream a performance from the Roundhouse in London on 15 Jul at 8pm UK time. Tickets are available here. With her new eponymous album out on 17 Jul, she’s also put out a cover of Radiohead’s ‘Weird Fishes’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | |