Artist News Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers Live Business One Liners Releases

One Liners: SZA, Paramore, Gorillaz, more

By | Published on Friday 9 December 2022



Dirty Hit has extended its worldwide distribution deal with Universal Music’s Ingrooves. “I feel very grateful to Ingrooves and the wider UMG team for all the support and faith they have shown me over the years”, says Dirty Hit’s Jamie Oborne. “Our relationship is now in its twelfth year and I am very proud to continue building Dirty Hit with our day-one distribution partners”.

Reservoir has signed a new publishing deal with songwriter-producer Leroy Clampitt for his future works. He is best known for co-writing Justin Bieber’s ‘Company’. “I’m incredibly inspired to be making music with the support of everyone at Reservoir”, he says. “It’s so wonderful to know my songs are in safe hands. It’s an honour to be welcomed into the family”.



Live firm AEG Presents has hired Chris Wareing as SVP Global Touring and Paris Harding as a Promoter. AEG Presents UK CEO Steve Homer says: “Having worked alongside Chris for a number of years and admired his presence from afar, I couldn’t be more THRILLED to have him join our team. It’s rare to come across talent at the level he and Paris exhibit and I couldn’t think of a better way to close out a stellar year”.



SZA has fiiiiiiiiiiiinally released her second album. ‘SOS’ is out today. Here’s the title track.

Paramore have release new single ‘The News’. “Lyrically, it probably explains itself”, says Hayley Williams. “The 24 hour news cycle is just impossible to comprehend. And I feel a pang of guilt when I unplug to protect my headspace. The common reaction, or non-reaction, seems to be dissociation. Not one of us is innocent of that and who could blame us?” The band’s new album, ‘This Is Why’, is out on 10 Feb.

Gorillaz have released new single ‘Skinny Ape’. Their new album, ‘Cracker Island’, is out on 23 Feb.

Florence And The Machine have shared a new live version of ‘Morning Elvis’, featuring Ethel Cain. “’Morning Elvis’ is a song about the power of performance”, says Florence Welch. “Of rock n roll tragedy and transcendence. And it’s a sign of a truly special artist when they make a cover their own. When [Ethel Cain] sang this song it felt like it was hers, she really gave it that outlaw energy, like witches of the Wild West”.

Lucy Spraggan has announced that she will release her new album, ‘Balance’, on 28 Apr. The title track is out now. She will also publish a memoir, titled ‘Process’, in July. “I’ve been working very hard over the last eighteen months on my album and I’ve been working for nearly two and a half years on my book and I’m THRILLED that both things I have created are gonna be released into the world”, she says. “I’m full of anticipation and excitement and at points nervous about the release but I can’t wait. 2023 is going to be a big one”.

Biig Piig has released new single ‘Picking Up’, featuring Deb Never. “’Picking Up’ is about wanting to run, get outside of your body, or go and punch something – anything to get the feeling out”, she says. “I just love Deb and her energy: the track itself is heavy, but we had a lot of fun making a song about following anxiety and chaos”. Her debut mixtape, ‘Bubblegum’, is out on 20 Jan.

Bree Runway has surprised released new EP ‘Woah, What A Blur’, which includes a new Stormzy collaboration. The EP, she says, “is an embodiment of how blurry this year felt personally and professionally. It’s visiting the deep depths of my soul and showing everyone exactly that”. She’s also announced that she will play the Kentish Town Forum in London on 6 Apr.

Fresh from winning Best Grime Act at this year’s MOBO’s, D Double E has released Christmas single ‘Merry Christmas’.

Radiohead’s Philip Selway has released new solo single ‘Check For Signs Of Life’. His new album, ‘Strange Dance’, is out on 24 Feb.

Bill Berry and Mike Mantione’s The Bad Ends have released new single ‘The Ballad Of Satan’s Bride’. Their debut album, ‘The Power And The Glory’, will be out on 20 Jan.

H Hawkline has released new single ‘Suppression Street’ and announced that he will release new Cate Le Bon-produced album ‘Milk For Flowers’ on 10 Mar. “I’ve known myself twice”, he says, speaking about the new single. “I’ve learnt a new language and know everyone who speaks it. It’s a dead language and you only need a few words. I’m an ice-skating cowboy and a little boy in the bank, we both press against the glass of a filthy French window, sliding it in opposite directions. This one fell into my lap”.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |