Artist News Business News Deals Industry People Labels & Publishers Releases

One Liners: Taylor Swift, Miley Cyrus, Charli XCX, more

By | Published on Friday 14 June 2019


Warner Chappell has signed a new global publishing deal with hip hop producer Turbo. “His signature sound is a game changer, attracting trailblazing artists and influential fans alike to his music”, says the company’s US A&R President Ryan Press.

Concord Music Publishing has acquired Sikorski Music Publishing. It will be combined with the company’s existing Boosey & Hawkes division. “The union of Boosey & Hawkes and Sikorski under the Concord family of companies is a real signal to the continued value of classical repertoire”, says Concord President John Minch.

Universal’s Republic Records in the US has signed Anthony Ramos. He will release his debut album later this year.



Sony/ATV has promoted Dale Esworthy to EVP Worldwide Administration. You want some administrating doing? He’ll do it for you. And worldwide! “This promotion underscores the critical role that administration plays in providing Sony/ATV’s songwriters with an unrivalled level of service”, says Jon Platt, CEO of the Sony music publisher.



Taylor Swift has released new single ‘You Need To Calm Down’. It’s true, you do.

Netflix has released the music video for the ‘Black Mirror’ rework of Nine Inch Nails’ ‘Head Like A Hole’, performed by Miley Cyrus and retitled ‘On A Roll’.

Charli XCX has announced that she will release her new album, ‘Charli’, on 13 Sep. From it, this is new single ‘Blame It On Your Love’, featuring Lizzo.

Octavian has released new mixtape, ‘Endorphins’. From it, here’s ‘Feel It’, featuring Theophilus London.

Marking the 40th anniversary of Joy Division‘s ‘Unknown Pleasures’ album, there’s a new video for ‘I Remember Nothing’. A series of other videos will be released over course of the year.

King Princess has released the video for ‘Cheap Queen’.

Will Young has released the video for ‘My Love’, from his new album ‘Lexicon’, which is out next week.

Kaiser Chiefs have released new single ‘People Know How To Love One Another’. They’ve also announced UK arena shows at the beginning of next year, which will wind up at London’s O2 Arena on 1 Feb.

Little Simz has released the video for ‘101FM’, from her latest album ‘Grey Area’. She’s also put out a new Toddla T remix of the track.

Marika Hackman has released new single ‘The One’. “It’s probably the poppiest song I’ve ever written”, she says. “I loved the idea of inhabiting this ridiculous arrogant rock star character who has totally fucked their career by writing too many sad songs”.

Tallsaint has released new single, ‘Skin Deep’. Her debut EP, ‘Hard Love’, is out on 16 Jul.

Killdren have released a more palatable version of the song get got them booted off the Glastonbury line-up. Here’s ‘Tickle Tory Chums (Before They Tickle You)’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |