Artist News Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals Labels & Publishers Management & Funding One Liners Releases

One Liners: The Black Keys, Featured Artists Coalition, The Lumineers, more

By | Published on Thursday 14 October 2021

The Black Keys


Bucks Music Group has signed Baby Strange frontman Johnny Madden to a worldwide publishing deal. “I’m over the moon to have signed a publishing deal with Bucks”, says Madden. “I’ve been an admirer of the company and the writers they work with for a long time, so it’s very exciting to be part of their roster. They get me, they understand where I’m heading, and it feels like the perfect team to be part of as I continue in my songwriting career”.



At its AGM yesterday, the UK’s Featured Artists Coalition voted in a whole load of new artists to its board. Aluna Francis, Kelli-Leigh Henry-Davila, Dave Okumu and Wolf Alice’s Joff Oddie become board directors, while Shao Dow and Primal Scream’s Simone Marie Butler become permanent observers. Departing in order to make way for them are Ed O’Brien, Hal Ritson, Sandie Shaw, Fran Healy and Lucy Pullin.



The Black Keys have split from longtime manager John Peets at Q Prime, and are now co-managed by Steve Moir and Irving Azoff.



If you were hoping to hear a new single form The Lumineers today, well, good luck! The duo have just put out ‘Big Shot’, which is taken from their fourth album ‘Brightside’. And when is that album out? It is out on 14 Jan 2022.

Joy Crookes is set to release her debut album ‘Skin’ tomorrow. Just time for one more single. Here’s ‘Trouble’.

Kash Doll has released new song ‘Single & Happy’, featuring Wale and Eric Bellinger.

Snail Mail is back with new single ‘Ben Franklin’. “I wanted to sonically and lyrically get out of my comfort zone with ‘Ben Franklin'”, she says. “It felt only right that the visual accompaniment should include dancing in front of a camera and holding a ten foot snake close to my face”. Exactly. And here is that visual accompaniment, aka video.

Foxes has has released another single from her upcoming album ‘The Kick’, which is out next February. This is ‘Dance Magic’.

Robyn guests on Smile‘s new single ‘Call My Name’. “I love singing ‘Call My Name’ and it was a true pleasure to record it and rave around in this beautiful song”, she says.

Kyary Pamyu Pamyu is set to release her fifth album, ‘Candy Racer’, on 27 Oct – coinciding with the tenth anniversary of her debut. Here’s new single ‘Dodonpa’. “My whole team and record label have been totally renewed at the timing of my tenth anniversary”, she says. “Everything has changed, except me. Now it’s my turn to break out of my shell and take on various challenges. I will restart everything from scratch. It’s like being a rookie again”.

Blood Red Shoes’ Laura-Mary Carter will release her debut solo album, ‘Town Called Nothing’, on 3 Dec. You probably want to hear something from it. How about the title track?

Emika has released a new fifteen minute mix of tracks, including new material, which soundtracks her new virtual reality experience. The music is taken from her new trilogy collection of albums, ‘Vega’, which is out on 5 Nov.

Teleman will release new EP ‘Sweet Morning’ on 5 Nov. New single ‘Simple Like Us’ is out now. It’s “a hymn to staying at home and ignoring the ever turbulent and often confusing stream of information from news and social media”, they say. The band start a UK tour in Liverpool tonight.

Rosie Lowe and Duval Timothy have teamed up for new collaborative album ‘Son’, which will be out on 12 Nov. The title track is out now.

Poppy Ackroyd has announced that she will release new album ‘Pause’ on 12 Nov – a collection of solo piano pieces. From it, this is ‘Stillness’.

Mr Twin Sister will return with new album, ‘Al Mundo Azul’, on 19 Nov. In fact, they’ve returned already with new single ‘Ballarino’. “It’s about having access to a smartphone, and how it changed my lifestyle: looking to it for everything, and being addicted to having it held up in front of your face at all times”, says vocalist Andrea Estella. “The theme is the feeling of something new. Wonder”.

Screaming Females frontwoman Marissa Paternoster has announced that she will release her first solo album, ‘Peace Meter’, on 3 Dec. Here’s first single ‘White Dove’.

Fickle Friends have released new single ‘Alone’. Their new album, ‘Are We Gonna Be Alright?’, is out on 14 Jan.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |