Artist News Brands & Merch Business News Deals Digital Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases Retail

One Liners: The Shires, Merlin, Laurent Garnier, more

By | Published on Wednesday 19 June 2019

The Shires


The Shires have signed a new record deal with BMG to release their fourth album. In the US, they will release through BMG-owned, Nashville-based label Broken Bow Records. “The dilemma for UK-based country artists is that traditional UK labels have zero leverage in Nashville”, says BMG President Repertoire & Marketing UK Alistair Norbury. “The terrific strength of BMG is working directly with my peer and colleague [Broken Bow boss] Jon Loba [to] get a total US buy-in to The Shires prior to signing the deal”.



Charles Caldas has announced that he will step down as CEO of indie label digital rights agency Merlin at the end of the year. His announcement comes after more than twelve years running the licensing organisation that he helped set up as the digital music market was first starting to boom in the mid-2000s. “This has easily been the most rewarding work of my life”, he says.



Record Store Day UK has brought forward its submission deadline for labels wanting to put forward releases for the event. You have until 19 Dec this year to get stuff on the list. More info here.



Laurent Garnier is crowdfunding a new documentary on the history of techno. As well as going behind the scenes on Garnier’s recent tour, the film will feature interviews with the likes of Jeff Mills, Carl Cox and Derrick May.

Sunn o))) have teamed up with EarthQuaker Devices to build their own guitar pedal, giving your sound octave fuzz and distortion with boost. That’s ‘quite noisy’ in layman’s terms.



Ed Sheeran has announced all the collaborators on his new collaborations album, ‘No 6 Collaborations Project’. They are: 50 Cent, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, Bruno Mars, Camila Cabello, Cardi B, Chance The Rapper, Chris Stapleton, Dave, Ella Mai, Eminem, HER, J Hus, Justin Bieber, Meek Mill, Paulo Londra, PnB Rock, Skrillex, Stormzy, Travis Scott, Yebba, and Young Thug.

Chelsea Wolfe has announced that she will release new album, ‘Birth Of Violence’, on 13 Sep. Here’s new single ‘The Mother Road’.

Frankie Cosmos have announced that they will release their fourth album, ‘Close It Quietly’, on 6 Sep. Here’s new single ‘Windows’.

80s pop star Debbie Gibson is back with a new single, ‘Girls Night Out’.



Dinosaur Pile-Up have announced UK tour dates at the end of the year, which will wind up at The Scala in London on 11 Dec.

Scarlxrd has announced that he will be touring the UK in November. His new album, ‘Immxrtalisatixn’, is out on 4 Oct. Here’s new single ‘Gxing The Distance’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | |