Artist News Business News Deals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: The Wiggles, IMPALA, Idles, more

By | Published on Wednesday 13 January 2021

The Wiggles


Universal Music Publishing has signed children’s band The Wiggles to a global publishing deal, covering their 54 studio albums. “Emma, Lachy, Simon and I are excited to partner with Universal Music Publishing as we go into our 30th year of Wiggling”, says founder and longest-serving member of the group Anthony Field. “This is going to be such a monumental year for The Wiggles, and we couldn’t be happier to be celebrating it with Universal Music”.



Pan-European independent music trade group IMPALA has entered into a three year agreement with Vick Bain from Vbain Consulting and Arit Eminue of DiVA Apprenticeships to provide diversity and inclusion training to its members. “Training is one of the main commitments under our Diversity And Inclusion Charter, so it’s great to be able to kick off 2021 with a partnership with Vick and Arit”, says Executive Chair Helen Smith. “They will be crucial in helping the sector accelerate change”.



Idles have released the video for ‘Reigns’ from their ‘Ultra Mono’ album.

Mastodon’s Bill Kelliher, Veruca Salt’s Louise Post and Limp Bizkit’s Wes Borland are among the contributors to a cover of Jane’s Addiction’s ‘Mountain Song’ in aid of the Roadie Relief fundraising campaign.

Mogwai have released new single ‘Ritchie Sacramento’. The title “came from a misunderstanding a friend of ours had about how to say Ryuichi Sakamoto”, explains the band’s Stuart Braithwaite. “The lyrics were inspired by a story Bob Nastanovich shared about his friend and bandmate David Berman who proclaimed ‘rise crystal spear’ as he threw a shovel at a sports car. The song is dedicated to all the musician friends we’ve lost over the years”. Mogwai’s new album, ‘As The Love Continues’, is out on 19 Feb.

Gary Numan has released ‘Intruder’, the title track from his upcoming new album, which is set for release on 21 May.

Flohio has released the video for ‘Roundtown’, from her ‘No Panic No Pain’ mixtape.

Dodie has released new single ‘Hate Myself’. Her debut album, ‘Build A Problem’, is set for release on 5 Mar.

Crabs have released new track ‘Bourgeois Lockdown‘.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |