Artist News Business News Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers Releases

One Liners: Tileyard Music, Mark Ronson, Five Seconds Of Summer, more

By | Published on Thursday 22 August 2019

Five Seconds Of Summer


Neil Hughes, formerly of RCA, has been appointed Managing Director at Tileyard Music, the management, publishing and recordings company based out of the Tileyard Studios complex near Kings Cross. “We are THRILLED”, says the firm’s co-founder Michael Harwood.



Mark Ronson and King Princess have released an interactive Instagram video for their song, ‘Pieces Of Us’. Sort of. It’s a series of Instagram Stories posts, so the main interaction – I found – was skipping through it all really quickly. Apparently, there’s other stuff you can do though that will change daily.

Five Seconds Of Summer have released new single ‘Teeth’, featuring the actual Tom Morello. We were sent quite a long quote from frontman Luke Hemmings but it doesn’t mention the Rage Against The Machine guitarist once, so I’m not sure why he bothered.

Thom Yorke has released a new track, ‘Daily Battles’, featuring Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea. It’s taken from Yorke’s soundtrack for upcoming film ‘Motherless Brooklyn’.

Mura Masa has released new track ‘I Don’t Think I Can Do This Again’, featuring Clairo. “This is the beginning of rolling out a new direction for Mura Masa, which has a much heavier focus on band and guitar music”, says the producer.

Stefflon Don has released new track ‘Hit Me Up’.

Kano has released new single ‘Pan Fried’, featuring Kojo Funds. The track is taken from his new album ‘Hoodies All Summer’, which is out next week.

Young Thug has released the video for ‘Surf’ from his ‘So Much Fun’ album.

Formerly working together under the name Techno Animal, Justin Broadrick and Kevin Martin have reunited under the monkier Zonal. The duo are set to release a new album, titled ‘Wrecked’, on 20 Sep. From it, this is ‘System Error’.

Flohio is back with new track ‘Way2’.

Kindness has released new single ‘Raise Up’. His new album ‘Something Like War’ is out on 6 Sep.

Feeder have released ‘Blue Sky Blue’ from their new album ‘Tallulah’.

Spector have released new track ‘Half Life’, taken from a new EP due out in the autumn. They will also be touring the UK in October and November.

Sampa The Great has released new track ‘Freedom’, taken from her new album ‘The Return’, out on 13 Sep. “‘Freedom’ is about … the balance of earning a living and expressing your artistry, and what you’re willing to compromise through it all”, she explains.

Efterklang have released new single ‘I Dine Øjne’. The track is “about peepholes to a fantasy, in the eyes of a person you just met in a brief encounter”, says frontman Casper Clausen. “It’s definitely driven by desire and lust, but also that feeling of loss when you wake up, alone with yourself again”. New album ‘Altid Sammen’ is out on 20 Sep.

‘Pen Pineapple Apple Pen’ star Pikotaro‘s gone dark.



Slipknot have announced UK tour dates next year. Kicking off at the Manchester Arena on 16 Jan, they will wend their way around England, Scotland and Wales, until finishing up at the O2 Arena in London on 25 Jan. Tickets go on general sale on 30 Aug.



Anna Calvi, Cate Le Bon, Dave, Idles, Seed Ensemble and Slowthai are all confirmed to perform at this year’s Mercury Prize ceremony on 19 Sep. Lauren Laverne will present the whole thing. She says this: “It’s a pleasure to be hosting the 2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize. This year’s shortlist is such a fantastic representation of British and Irish music in 2019, and I do not envy the judging panel! It’s going to be very difficult to predict which of the twelve albums of the year receives this year’s prize”. No it isn’t, it’ll be Dave.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | |