Artist News Business News Deals Gigs & Festivals Industry People Labels & Publishers Live Business One Liners Releases

One Liners: Tokimonsta, B Traits, Universal, more

By | Published on Wednesday 15 January 2020



B Traits has signed with booking agency LittleBig, which will now book in DJ and live sets for her under both her main alias and new jungle-influenced moniker Baby T.



Warner Music has announced new leadership for its London-based Artist Services division, which sits under WEA. Morgan Hughes has been promoted to Head Of Creative and Russell Fogden moves over from Universal’s merch business Bravado to become Head Of Commercial. “We’re delighted to be taking up this new challenge”, they say in a joint statement. “The artist services market has changed so much in the last few years, with new global opportunities opening up at an unprecedented rate”.

Universal Music UK has launched a new in-house data and strategy agency called The Square, appointing Jack Fryer as its Managing Director. “We want to be a 21st Century service for a 21st Century music company”, says Fryer. “A little town-square bursting with different kinds of brains and different kinds of skills to benefit our labels and artists”. Ah, I see, it’s a “town-square”, hence The Square. It’s not because all the squares work in the data department. Of course it’s not that. All the cool kids do data shit these days.



Tokimonsta has announced that she will release new album ‘Oasis Nocturna’ through her own Young Art label on 20 Mar. Here’s the video for first single ‘Fried For The Night’, featuring Earthgang.

Alexisonfire have released new single ‘Season Of The Flood’. “I’m very proud of this new song”, says the band’s George Pettit. “There were some first time attempts for us and we all really came together in the studio to make this song what it is. This was also my first time singing with Dallas [Green, guitarist and vocalist] on a song. I know I’ve been playing in a band with Dal for almost 20 years, but damn, that guy’s voice could melt an angel”.

Moby has returned having withdrawn from the public eye last year after Natalie Portman criticised his description of “the very short time that I knew him” in his autobiography as “very disturbing”. He’s now announced that he will release new album, ‘All Visible Objects’, on 6 Mar. Profits from the record will be donated to various charities. From the album, this is ‘Power Is Taken’.

Rich The Kid has released the video for his new single ‘That’s Tuff’, featuring Quavo.

King Krule will release new album ‘Man Alive!’ on 21 Feb through Matador. This is new single ‘(Don’t Let The Dragon) Draag On’.

Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy has released the video for ‘This Is Far From Over’ from his new album ‘I Made A Place’.

Soccer Mommy has announced that she will release her new album, ‘Color Theory’, through Loma Vista on 28 Feb. This is new single ‘Circle The Drain’.

Born Ruffians have announced that they will release their sixth album, ‘Juice’, on 3 Apr through Yep Roc Records. From it, this is ‘I Fall In Love Every Night’. The band will also be touring the UK in June.

Petrol Girls have released the video for ‘Monstrous’ from their ‘Cut & Stitch’ album. The band are currently on tour in the UK, playing Brighton’s Green Door Store tonight and Oslo in London tomorrow.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |