Artist News Gigs & Festivals One Liners Releases

One Liners: Tom Petty, Robyn, Alexisonfire, more

By | Published on Monday 18 February 2019

Tom Petty

Other notable announcements and developments today…

• Ahead of a new Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers best of compilation, previously unreleased track ‘For Real’ has been released.

• Robyn has released a video for her song ‘Send To Robyn Immediately’, mainly to promote her new line of clothes designed for sportswear brand Björn Borg. “It is Robyn’s creative vision mixed with our brand DNA, a flirt with the street fashion of today”, says Björn Borg Design Director Mija Nideborn. About the clothes, not the video. Although that meaningless nonsense could probably be applied to both.

• Alexisonfire have released their first new song for nine years, ‘Familiar Drugs’. They’ve also announced that they will play Alexandra Palace in London on 1 Jun.

• Amon Tobin has announced that he will release his first album since 2011’s brilliant ‘ISAM’ on 26 Apr. Titled ‘Fear In A Handful Of Dust’, it will arrive via his new Nomark label. Here’s first single ‘On A Hilltop Sat The Moon’.

• Former Bullet For My Valentine drummer Michael ‘Moose’ Thomas’s new band Kill The Lights have released new track ‘Watch You Fall’. “‘Watch You Fall’ is about learning to cut toxic people out of your life that breed negativity and think only of themselves”, says vocalist James Clark.

• Ekkah have released new track ‘Just A Thing’.

• Peggy Sue bassist Benedict Benjamin has announced that he will release his second solo album, ‘Truant’, on 3 May. Here’s new single ‘Ain’t Easy’.

• Open Mike Eagle has announced UK and Ireland tour dates in May, including a show at the Islington Assembly Hall on 24 May.

• Tirzah has announced UK tour dates for April, including a three night run at The Scala in London.

• Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | |