Artist News Business News Deals Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Universal, Kanye West, The Rolling Stones & Jimmy Page, more

By and | Published on Wednesday 22 July 2020

Universal Music


Universal Music Publishing in the US has signed an admin deal with Grammy winning singer-songwriter Brandi Carlile and the sibling duo she has long collaborated with, Tim and Phil Hanseroth. UMPG boss Jody Gerson says she’s a big fan of Carlile. And Carlile says she’s a big fan of Gerson. So let’s just hope this deal doesn’t sour at any point and damage all that mutual fandom.

Music publisher Sentric has signed a deal with Lanterns On The Lake. The band’s Bob Allan is “really excited” about the tie up. Sentric’s Simon Pursehouse is “chuffed”. And we’re “THRILLED” about it. Which is kind of ironic really, isn’t it? But that’s just the way things go sometimes.



Kanye West has announced that he will release new album ‘Donda’ this Friday. The rapper released a track from the album last week.

The Rolling Stones have released a previously unavailable 1974 track called ‘Scarlet’, featuring Jimmy Page. “My recollection is we walked in at the end of a Zeppelin session”, says Keith Richards. “They were just leaving, and we were booked in next and I believe that Jimmy decided to stay. We weren’t actually cutting it as a track, it was basically for a demo, a demonstration, you know, just to get the feel of it, but it came out well, with a line up like that, you know, we better use it”.

Vic Mensa, Aloe Blacc and more feature on new benefit compilation ‘Defund The Sheriff’, calling for the LA Sheriff Department to be defunded. Mensa, who contributes a track called ‘The Largest Prison System On Earth’, says: “The prison industrial complex of The Divided States Of America is one of the greatest stains ever to blemish the bloody flag that is America. The sheriff is little more than the militarised arm of this oppressive system; it is our duty as revolutionaries to challenge and dismantle white supremacy to the furthest extent possible within our lifetimes, by any and all means necessary”.

Sampa The Great has released the video for ‘Time’s Up’, from her 2019 album ‘The Return’. “‘Time’s up’ is a track that was made to reflect a conversation between two young African artists working in the Australian music industry”, she says. “An industry that has often been careless in protecting the wellbeing of black artists. The labour put on marginalised people to have to address systemic racism every day means more trauma and pressure on our mental health and emotional state”.

The Wombats’ Daniel Haggis and Tord Øverland Knudsen have announced new side project Sunship Balloon and released their first single, ‘A4 Life’.

Metz have announced that they will release their fourth album, ‘Atlas Vending’, on 9 Oct. From it, this is first single ‘A Boat To Drown In’.

Sylvan Esso have released new single ‘Ferris Wheel’. They’ve also announced that their new album, ‘Free Love’, will be out on 25 Sep.

Hannah Georgas has released new single ‘Just A Phase’. Her album, ‘All That Emotion’, is out on 4 Sep.

EMMA has released new single ‘Gold’, the first single from her second album ‘Indigo Dream’, which is out on 29 Jul.

Jess RM has released new track ‘Deathwish’.

CreepaOfficial has released the video for recent single ‘South Brum’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |