Artist News Business News Digital Industry People Labels & Publishers Legal One Liners Releases

One Liners: Warner Music, Billie Eilish & Rosalía, Lil Wayne, more

By | Published on Friday 22 January 2021

Billie Eilish & Rosalía


Warner Chappell has promoted Natalie Madaj to SVP Digital Licensing (Americas) and Daniel Lang to VP Digital Licensing (EMEIA). “Natalie and Daniel have been instrumental in strengthening our relationships with digital service providers and helping to ensure that our songwriters get paid fairly and quickly”, says EVP Global Digital Strategy, Eric Mackay.

Warner Music has named Dallas Martin as President of Asylum Records. “It’s always been my dream to head a label as iconic as Asylum”, he says. So that’s nice.



All of the submissions made to the UK Parliament culture select committee’s inquiry into the economics of streaming have now been made public – all 197 of them. We’ll be reviewing some of the key themes in those submissions each day next week, but you can read them all here. If you want to. Did we mention there are 197 of them?



Billie Eilish and Rosalía have released new collaboration ‘Lo Vas A Olvidar’. The Spanish-language track will feature in a new episode of HBO show ‘Euphoria’ next week.

Fresh from receiving a pardon from Donald Trump, Lil Wayne has released new track ‘Ain’t Got Time’, which seemingly references the FBI raid on his private jet in 2019 that, until this week, saw him facing up to ten years in prison. Yesterday he thanked Trump for “recognising that I have so much more to give to my family, my art, and my community”.

Yungblud has released a new video for his track ‘Acting Like That’, featuring Machine Gun Kelly.

Royal Blood have announced that they will release their third album, ‘Typhoons’, on 30 Apr. Here’s the title track.

Novelist has released a video for his 2018 track ‘Calm’.

Django Django have released new single ‘Free From Gravity’. New album ‘Glowing In The Dark’ is out on 12 Feb.

Fryars has announced that he will release new album ‘God Melodies’ later this year. He’s released the video for the title track on TikTok.

Mike Patton-fronted band Tomahawk will release a new album called ‘Tonic Immobility’ on 26 Mar. The band’s Duane Denison promises that it will be “an escape from the realities of the world”. Here’s first single ‘Business Casual’.

Bad Religion have released new song ‘Emancipation Of The Mind’, to mark the end of Donald Trump’s US presidency. “The track’s upbeat messaging calls for reason and open-mindedness as a new administration is welcomed into the White House”, say the band.

Efterklang frontman Casper Clausen has released the video for ‘8 Bit Human’, from his new solo album ‘Better Way’.

Moonspell have released new single ‘All Or Nothing’. Their new album ‘Hermitage’ is out on 26 Feb.

Balthazar have released new single ‘On A Roll’. Their new album, ‘Sand’, is out on 26 Feb.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |