Artist News Business News Deals Digital Industry People Labels & Publishers Management & Funding One Liners Releases

One Liners: Warner Music, D:Ream, PRS For Music, more

By and | Published on Wednesday 17 February 2021

Warner Music


Mute has signed Sylph, the solo project of former SCUM vocalist Thomas Cohen. “On this new project I wanted to fuse the singer-songwriter format of having a verse or a chorus, with a harder electronic repetition”, says Cohen, setting the scene for a series of collaborations with techno producers Regis, Terence Fixmer, Nicolas Bougaïeff and Rrose. He will release an EP titled ‘Silver As It Was Before’ on 3 Mar. Here’s first track, ‘Braid’.

Warner Music has invested in Rotana Music – the record label owned by Saudi Arabia’s Prince Al-Waleed bin Talal. As part of the deal, Warner’s label services division ADA will distribute Rotana’s releases worldwide. “The Middle East and North Africa region is among the most culturally dynamic places in the world today, with burgeoning musical scenes and dramatic consumption growth”, says Simon Robson, Warner’s International President for recorded music. “We’re THRILLED to be joining with Rotana, whose significant presence in the market reflects its extraordinary roster of musical icons and outstanding talent”.

Blue Raincoat Music Publishing has acquired the songs catalogue of D:Ream founder Peter Cunnah. “When dance music and artists who had grown up in the clubs began to infiltrate the charts it was an exciting time and D:Ream were a huge part of this”, says the publisher’s Emma Kamen. “‘Things Can Only Get Better’ is a song people will always want to hear – joyous and catchy in equal measure. All of us here are proud to have Peter’s catalogue as part of the Blue Raincoat family”.



UK collecting society PRS For Music has a new Chief Commercial Officer, Dan Gopal. Having formerly worked for media firms like Disney and ITV, he was most recently at Entertainment One. In his new role he will “steer PRS For Music’s licensing negotiations with public performance, TV and radio broadcasters, digital services and recorded media providers, as well as maximising the value of its joint ventures and partnerships while delivering a ‘world class’ customer experience”.

Various Artists Management has promoted Rebecca Dixon to Head Of Marketing & Promotions. “Having been at the company for five years, I’m looking forward to working with our amazing roster of artists and managers in this new role”, she says.



Music distributor Ditto has announced a new training initiative called Industry Access which seeks “to encourage people from minority and working class backgrounds to start careers in the music industry”. As well as various workshops and a networking event, one-to-one mentoring will also be provided to some participants. The programme is part of the company’s $100,000 commitment to support Black Lives Matter causes and underrepresented people across the music industry. Info here.



Jpegmafia has released the video for ‘Panic Room!’, from his new EP, ‘EP2!’

South have announced that they will release a 20th anniversary edition of their ‘From Here On In’ album on 26 Mar, along with a b-sides and rarities compilation, titled ‘From Here On Out’. Here’s a new video for ‘Breaking Away’.

Jenny Hval and Håvard Volden have announced their first album together as Lost Girls (their second in total, after a 2012 album under the name Nude On Sand). ‘Menneskekollektivet’ will be released through Smalltown Supersound on 26 Mar. Here’s the title track.

Årabrot have released new single ‘Kinks Of The Heart’. Their new album, ‘Norwegian Gothic’, is out in April.

Valentina has released new single ‘Don’t Say It’. Her new EP, ‘Nature’, is out on 11 Mar.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |