Artist News Business News Labels & Publishers Media One Liners Releases

One Liners: Warner Music, Lady A, Alison Mosshart, more

By | Published on Wednesday 17 June 2020

Warner Music


Warner Music is co-producing a film about… of course… you guessed it… tennis. Specifically the story of tennis champion Arthur Ashe – the only black man to ever win the singles title at Wimbledon, the US Open and the Australian Open. Working with Hyde Park Entertainment, Warner is on board to secure music and provide creative guidance, according to Deadline.



The band formerly known as Lady Antebellum have announced that, following an online meeting with the soul singer Lady A – who objected to them changing their name to hers last week – both parties are now “moving forward with positive solutions and common ground”.

A documentary about late Blind Melon frontman Shannon Hoon – who died of a heart attack as a result of a cocaine overdose in 1995 – is set to be premiered online on 26 Jun. Titled ‘All I Can Say’, the film uses footage shot by Hoon himself to tell his story. More info here.



Alison Mosshart has announced that she will release a spoken word album, titled ‘Sound Wheel’, on 7 Aug. An accompanying book – ‘Car Ma’ – will be out the same day. From the album, this is ‘Returning The Screw’.

Paris Jackson’s band The Soundflowers have announced that they will release their eponymous debut EP on 23 Jun. “I started writing around thirteen when I bought myself a guitar”, she says. “I didn’t really start sharing or recording it until I met [Soundflowers co-founder] Gabriel [Glenn]. I had never met someone who fit so perfectly with my sound”.

Gaika will release new EP ‘Seguridad’ on 3 Jul, through NAAFI. The eight track release (is that really and EP?) will feature Tayhana, Lao, Omaar, Wasted Fates, Zutzut and Lechuga Zafiro. Listen to ‘Of Saints’ featuring Tayhana now.

Matthew Murphy from The Wombats has announced that he will release the debut album from his Love Fame Tragedy solo project, ‘Wherever I Go, I Want To Leave’, on 10 Jul. He’s also released new single ‘5150’. The title of said single, he says, “refers to the California law code for individuals who present a danger to themselves or others due to signs of mental illness. In this case it refers more to how I occasionally feel a need to escape, regardless of the repercussions”.

Devin Townsend recently released an album of guitar improvisations. Now he’s gone and put out another one. “I enjoy this process and I find it calming in the face of the relentless negativity and oddness of recent times”, he says. “This stuff is meant to simply be background sounds while you do other things”.

Hannah Georgas has released her latest Aaron Dessner produced single ‘Dreams’. Her album, ‘All That Emotion’, is out on 4 Sep.

Fryars has released new single ‘Virtual Reality Games’, featuring Rae Morris, his first new release since 2014. “Unsurprisingly, a lot has happened in the world since I last put some music out”, he says. “The volume of information and conversation over the last six years has never been louder – engaging in it has been as overwhelming as it has been enlightening. The song came from a sudden desire a few years back – to become a gamer and ignore everyone and everything”.

Her Songs have released new single ‘Lost A Little’. Their new EP, ‘Toronto Vol 2’ – from which the track is taken – is set for release on 14 Aug.

Griff has released new single ‘Forgive Myself’, accompanied by a video created during lockdown. “Quarantine came and we had no video for ‘Forgive Myself'”, she says. “So I kinda had no choice but to try and pull off a music video alone in my house. It was definitely the most intense video I’ve done so far, but I’m quite proud of what we pulled off”.

Deema has released new single ‘Hash Brown’, featuring David Armada, from his upcoming EP ‘Chew Your Food’.

Check out our weekly Spotify playlist of new music featured in the CMU Daily – updated every Friday.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |