Artist News Business News Deals Industry People Labels & Publishers One Liners Releases

One Liners: Yours, Kula Shaker, Sophie Ellis-Bextor, Pendulum, more

By | Published on Friday 2 June 2023


Defected has signed dance collective Yours, which brings together Maverick Sabre, New Machine, Jake Hall and Sonny Hall. The first track under the deal, ‘Dónde Está, will be released on 7 Jun. That track, says Maverick Sabre, “really ties the Yours story together from conception to where we are now. The four of us are creatives from different spaces coming together to make a music and fashion fusion and spread some love through the art in the process. To have that journey come to the point where we are now releasing through Defected Records means a lot to us”.

Artist services and rights management company Interstellar has announced a number of recent signings including Kula ShakerCole RollandLack Of AfroMichael McArthurMirla and Xavier Weeks. Kula Shaker managers Kev Nixon and Sarah Clayman say: “We are impressed by Interstellar’s unique combination of expertise, experience, flexibility and passion for music, which made them the best choice to manage and develop the band’s catalogue of music rights. Kula Shaker’s digital management and catalogue have been underutilised and we are excited by the care and attention to detail and the worldwide opportunities we know the Interstellar team can provide”.



Music funding platform beatBread has appointed Troy Skabelund as its Chief Financial Officer. He has held similar roles at a number of tech-based businesses in recent years, and before that worked in the digital and interactive divisions of The Walt Disney Company. Says beatBread co-founder and COO John Haller: “Troy has deep management experience across many different large, fast-moving organisations, and his understanding of finance’s role in growth is important as we move forward. We’re excited and fortunate to have him join the team”.



Sophie Ellis-Bextor has a new album out via Cooking Vinyl called ‘HANA’. It includes recently released tracks ‘Breaking The Circle’, ‘Everything Is Sweet’ and ‘Lost In The Sunshine’, plus new focus track ‘Hearing In Colour’.

Singer-songwriter Sam Fischer has released a collaboration with Meghan Trainor called ‘Alright’. It’s a track he actually wrote with Trainor more than four years ago. Fischer explains: “I wrote the chorus of ‘Alright’ in the shower in 2018 while I was having an anxiety attack. I calmed myself down by saying ‘I’m gonna be alright’ repeatedly – then went to the studio and smashed out the song!”

Pendulum have released new single ‘Halo’ which features Bullet For My Valentine’s Matt Tuck. Both bands are also playing day two of this year’s Download festival next week.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | |