Artist News Awards Business News

Radar Awards nominees announced

By | Published on Tuesday 12 July 2016

Radar Music Videos

Radar Music Videos has announced the shortlists for the first edition of its new Radar Awards. The event, which will take place at YouTube Spaces in London this Thursday, aims to celebrate up and coming artists and video directors.

And the nominees are…

Director categories:

Art Department / Styling: SMRT – Buzzsaw (Dir: Avery Stedman), Girl Band – Paul (Dir: Bob Gallagher), Lunakid – Technicolor (Dir: Rico Mahel)

Animation / VFX: De Staat – Witch Doctor (Dir: Studio Smack), White Shadows Give Up Give Out Give In (Dir: Melvin J Montalban), BRO – Less Than Three (Dir: Julian Harding and Garth Vickers)

Cinematography / Lighting: Drvored – Bas Sam Sretan (Dir: Marin Nekic), Hammock – In the Middle of this Nowhere (Dir: Seth Fuller), Shen An – Things We Want (Dir: Remii Huang)

Concept / Narrative: Erik Blood – Chase The Clouds (Dir: Peter Edlund), Girl Band – Pears For Lunch (Dir: Bob Gallagher), Death From Above 1979 – Virgins (Dir: Eva Michon)

Edit: Lynx – Clap Track (Dir: Max Palmer), Zebra Katz – BLK Diamond (Dir: Elvar Gunnarsson), V V Brown – Lazarus (Dir: Daniel Price)

Live: Lady Leshurr – Queens Speech 4 (Dir: Wowa), Lucy Spraggan – Unsinkablw (Dir: Damien Reeves), Circa Waves – Young Chasers (Dir: Gregg Houston)

Location / Character: Supa Good D Smoke feat. Jackie Gouché and Davion Farris – Fighter (Dir: Erica Eng), Zebra Katz – BLK Diamond (Dir: Elvar Gunnarsson), Fly Moon Royalty – Grown Man (Dir: Bryan Campbell)

Radar-commissioned: Vinai – Techno (Dir: Stephanie and Francis Lane), Adem – Surrounded (Dir: Simon Dymond), Lea Porcelain – Out Is In (Dir: Ethan Grahamh)

Student: Noveller – Glacial Wave (Dir: John Byron Hanby, IV), Øst – Skræmmende Tomt (Dir: Emil Øllgaard Vilhelmsen), Prinze George – Victor (Dir: Thomas Hinkamp)

Artist categories:

Dance: The Geek x Vrv – Y (Dir: KillDeath), Fakear – Animal (Dir: Antoine Besse), 20sy – Back And Forth (Dir: Porthe), Gilligan Moss – Choreograph (Dir: Oscar Hudson)

Grime / Hip Hop: Open Mike Eagle – Celebrity Reduction Prayer (Dir: Ryan Calavano), Avelino – FYO (Dir: Isaac Asher), Geko feat Afro B (Dir: Lavinia Noel
Levelz), Rowdy – Badd (Dir: Joe Vickers and Richard Reason)

Indie: Susanne Sundfør – Accelerate (Dir: Stian Andersen), Anna Meredith – Taken (Dir: Ewan Jones Morris), Oscar – Sometimes (Dir: Bryan Schlam), Will Joseph Cook – Take Me Dancing (Dir: Raph Emile)