Artist News Awards

Radar Awards winners announced

By | Published on Friday 22 July 2016

Radar Music Videos

The winners of the first ever Radar Awards for excellence in music videos were unveiled at a recent ceremony at London’s YouTube Space.

“The Radar Awards were a blast”, says Radar Music Videos boss Caroline Bottomley. “The awards connected talented new filmmakers from across the world – including USA, Canada, Ireland, Croatia, Berlin, France, Iceland and Norway – with experienced and influential industry tastemakers and all was good”.

She adds: “A great venue – thanks YouTube! – plus great prizes – thanks Vevo, Marshall and all! – plus drinks all made for a great party and a lot of happy people”.

But what about the winners? Well, the winners were…

Director categories
Best Director: Bob Gallagher for Girl Band – Paul
Art Department / Styling: Girl Band – Paul (Dir: Bob Gallagher)
Animation / VFX: De Staat – Witch Doctor (Dir: Studio Smack)
Cinematography / Lighting: Hammock – In The Middle Of This Nowhere (Dir: Seth Fuller)
Concept / Narrative: Death From Above 1979 – Virgins (Dir: Eva Michon)
Edit: V V Brown – Lazarus (Dir: Daniel Price)
Live: Lady Leshurr – Queens Speech 4 (Dir: Wowa)
Location / Character: Zebra Katz – BLK Diamond (Dir: Elvar Gunnarsson)
Radar Commissioned: Lea Porcelain – Out Is In (Dir: Ethan Graham)
Student: Øst – Skræmmende Tomt (Dir: Emil Øllgaard Vilhelmsen)

Artist categories
Best Artist: Fakear – Animal (Dir: Antoine Besse)
Dance: Fakear – Animal (Dir: Antoine Besse)
Grime / Hip Hop: Open Mike Eagle – Celebrity Reduction Prayer (Dir: Ryan Calavano)
Indie: Susanne Sundfør – Accelerate (Dir: Stian Andersen)