Artist News Release Round-Up Releases

Release Round-Up: Christopher Owens, The Men, BadBadNotGood, Charlotte Church and The Faint

By | Published on Thursday 6 March 2014


Rounding up the latest release news…

One-time Girls man Christopher Owens, pictured here reclining on some steps in a string vest (and why not), has seen fit to share a new track with fans. Its name is ‘It Comes Back To You’, and it’s part of, in Chris’ words, “a new album I’ve made with dear friends”. So that probably translates to a solo LP, his first since last year’s ‘Lysandre’, featuring a cast of collaborators, or some such. Anyway, listen to the song here:

From an audible thing, to a visible one, Brooklyn’s own The Men have a video out this week for their single ‘Pearly Gates’. The track is drawn from the band’s fine new LP ‘Tomorrow’s Hits’, which is also just out. See the clip, which pays lip service to a European tour starting on 13 Mar at The Harley in Sheffield, right here:

Instrumental jazz pack BadBadNotGood (pictured) are honing their third LP, ‘III’, for release on 6 May, and to that end have premiered its lead single, a track titled ‘Can’t Leave The Night’. Hear how good it is in spite of its lack of lyrics by previewing it here:

And so to pop magpie Charlotte Church, who’s still forging ahead with a series of white-knuckle solo EPs of an experimental bent. Next and indeed fourth in that series is ‘Four’, from which Char has just shared closing track ‘Love’. “It’s a party'”, she claims of ‘Four’, which is out on Monday. “It’s like futuristic driving music – I call it cruise-wave”. Call it what you want, this (via the Quietus) is ‘Love’.

In final place it’s electro comeback kids The Faint, who are foreshadowing ‘Doom Abuse’, their first LP in six years, with a new track titled ‘Salt My Doom’. Whilst ‘Doom Abuse’ drops on 8 Apr, ‘Salt My Doom’ is lying right here to listen to right now.