Artist News Release Round-Up Releases

Release Round-Up: Iggy Azalea, Diplo/The Clash/Frank Ocean, Tirzah and Omi Palone

By | Published on Tuesday 11 March 2014


Rounding up the latest release news…

Iggy Azalea has released all the essential details on her new LP, ‘The New Classic’. Like its sleeve image, which is here, and its release date, which is 14 Apr. And a tracklisting. The disc will feature Azalea’s back-singles ‘Work’, ‘Bounce’ and Change Your Life’, plus guests in the shape of Rita Ora, Mavado, Watch The Duck and Charli XCX, who appears on Iggy’s latest track ‘Fancy’. Check the super-bitchin ‘Fancy’ visual here:

Moving on, what say you to a Converse-sponsored collaboration incorporating Diplo, The Clash‘s Mick Jones and Paul Simonon, and Frank Ocean? The promotional track is titled ‘Hero’, and was commissioned as part of the brand’s Three Artists, One Song campaign.

As to how on earth it all came to pass, Diplo has this to say: “Dance music is pretty basic: It’s the voice of the kids that are making it. It’s cool that we have something happening. Our generation has created something out of nothing with dance music. Kids are making music and going straight to SoundCloud or YouTube; they’re seventeen years old and becoming stars”.

Talking along similar lines, Mick Jones says: “Kids are making music in their bedrooms. Which I think is really similar to the punk idea of ‘do it yourself’ – it is possible. The punk thing wasn’t just about music, it was more about attitude and the way you handled yourself”.

Frank Ocean had nothing to add about ‘the kids’, sadly. Anyway, this is the track:

Approved artist Tirzah (pictured), who released a mish-mash of mismatched (brilliantly so) pop treats via last year’s ‘I’m Not Dancing’ EP, has confirmed a new five-tracker titled ‘No Romance’. Out on Greco Roman on 21 Apr, it finds Tirzah, she says, in her “emo” phase, and features, as per ‘I’m Not Dancing’, back-beats by Mica Levi. Stream and revel in the new EP’s title track here:

London band Omi Palone will release an LP of the same name, their first, on 14 Apr. It will follow a self-released 2011 cassette tape, and several split seven-inches dating back to last year, and is being handled on a joint basis by DIY labels Faux Discx and Negative Space. Listen in to one of its songs, ‘Shallow Divide’, now:

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | |