Artist News Releases

Release Round-Up: Liars, Rita Ora, Sia, Jhene Aiko and Kyan

By | Published on Tuesday 18 March 2014


Hi. So Liars (pictured) are streaming their “instinctual”-ly-made new LP, ‘Mess’, via a nice tidy micro-site on NPR. It’s released next week, so hasten to grab an early play while you still can, whilst reading and considering Liars frontman Angus Andrew’s intro to the LP’s vibe…

“We are a reactionary, or maybe a better word is schizophrenic band. We go from one extreme to the other. Working on the last record was really doubtful and paranoid, and that’s fine, but it just meant that when work started on this one, it was the exact opposite. It was way more instinctual, fun and confident”.

Speaking of fun and confident, if not instinctual, look who it is; only British pop construct Rita Ora! Our girl Rita has kindly shared a teaser for her new smash ‘I Will Never Let You Down’, which features beats by her real-life BF Calvin Harris. View said teaser here ahead of the track’s 11 May release date.

Hit-writer to the stars Sia is back in the spotlight as a solo artist, and will release ‘Chandeliers’, her first LP since 2010’s ‘We Are Born’, on 2 Jun. Listen to its title song now:

Another poised pop lady, Jhene Aiko, the voice of Drake’s ‘From Time’ and maker of last year’s brilliant ‘Sail Out’ EP, celebrated her birthday recently by giving away a free new track, ‘My Afternoon Dream’. Take a slice of it here:

Lastly, cool young thing Kyan has announced his first solo EP, ‘The Purple Experiment’, which is out just now, with a clip for its first-listed song, ‘Rosetta’. It’s ace, so watch it now: