Artist News Release Round-Up Releases

Release Round-Up: Michael Jackson, Kylie, Boris and Siinai

By | Published on Thursday 10 April 2014

Kylie Minogue

Rounding up the latest release news…

Shamone. The title track from Michael Jackson‘s compilation of old songs, ‘Xscape’, is online! The LP, as you surely must now know, comprises eight songs dug out of MJ’s vaults, only they’ve been given a face-lift, or “contemporised”, by Timbaland and a crack team of beatsmiths, so as to seem virtually like new.

Its title track is a co-write by Jackson and Rodney Jerkins, and is the only one on the LP to have been modernised by the man who wrote it in the first place. That’s Jerkins, not Jackson (because Michael Jackson’s dead, in case you hadn’t heard). Tune into the young n smooth new version of ‘Xscape’ now via this link.

And hey, get this; lil Kylie Minogue (pictured) has identified her new single as ‘I Was Gonna Cancel’, which was a) written and b) finessed by Pharrell. It’s off Minogue’s oh-so-now LP, ‘Kiss Me Once’, and will be released on 12 May. Read its lyric vid, which made me feel quite sick, and also none the wiser as to what the song is meant to be about, here:

Now to a band miles away from Kylie. Both location-wise, and sonically, and in all the other ways I can think of. It’s Japan-based rock trio Boris, who on 17 Jun will loose a “bold and streamlined” LP titled ‘Noise’.

The band say of it: “If we had to suggest just one album for those unfamiliar with our music, we will pick this for sure”. Which is saying something, since ‘Noise’ is one of over 21 Boris LPs in existence. So in case you missed all those, this is your chance to fall in love with Boris for the first time. And if you didn’t, you can always fall in love with Boris all over again. It’s ‘Noise’ track ‘Quicksilver’:

Speaking of bold bands, it’s Finnish instrumental quartet Siinai, whose Olympian audacity was approved back in 2012. Sinaii came back this week with a brave new LP idea, ‘Supermarket’, which is apparently a “hypnotic odyssey” into the aisles and workings of a big shop. ‘Supermarket’ will hit the stockpile on 17 Jun, though you can listen in on one of its songs, ‘Entrance’, right now: