Artist News Release Round-Up Releases

Release Round-Up: Usher, Kimbra, Boots, Ryan Hemsworth, Slowolf and Menswe@r

By | Published on Wednesday 7 May 2014

Ryan Hemsworth

Rounding up the latest release news…

Who wants to watch R&B star Usher popping and locking all over the place and miming playing drums with his top off, boasting that his girl does good kissing? If so, look not a tiny bit farther than Usher’s new video for his forthcoming single, ‘Good Kisser’, which has its sexy premiere earlier this week. Hurry over to YouTube now and catch all the hot man-on-drums action. And while you’re watching it, try to bear in mind that the track is the first sign of an eighth Usher LP, and will itself be released on 15 Jun.

Australian pop soloist Kimbra, aka the girl off of that Gotye song, has shared a track titled ’90s Music’ for all to hear. It’s a right old din, as my dad might say, and is taken from Kimbra’s forthcoming and still-TBA sophomore LP. And if you don’t like it, you can blame Matt Bellamy’s off of Muse, because apparently he had a hand in writing it.

Have a listen to it here, anyway:

And ooh, this is big. ‘Big’ like Beyonce, big. It’s a mixtape by Bey’s go-to-conspirator, R&B man Boots, who played a large part in making ‘Beyonce’ what it is. And what it is is; great. Anyway, this is Boots’ time to shine, not Beyonce’s. Though Beyonce does feature on the final track in the mix, ‘Dreams’, whilst Son Lux, Shlohmo, and (my top person in the world) Kelela drop in on other songs. Beyonce, Beyonce, Beyonce. And Kelela. Oops, and Boots.

Play the whole thing, which is bears a title-for-all-seasons, ‘WinterSpringSummerFall’, now via SoundCloud:

Sample-tastic Canadian DJ Ryan Hemsworth is to release a set of free tracks by his friends, allies and affiliates via a kind of online mini-label title Secret Songs. The first free gift in the scheme, which will yield a pair of “consistently great” (swears Hemmo) singles each month, is a track by teen mixologist Tennyson, called ‘You’re Cute’.

Stream that here:

It’s now time to think on doomy R&B/hip hop/metal artist Slowolf, whose doomy line in R&B/hip hop/metal had an approved sticker slapped on it last year. Slowolf, aka Danish human man Andreas Asingh, is previewing his new EP, ‘Bounty’, by placing its tracks online, one by one, ahead of its release on 26 May. The latest sneak-peak, following ‘Overdose’, is the Benny Banks-featuring ‘Horsey’, which is here:

And, finally. Platinum-disc-forging Britpop crew Menswe@r are back! With their first single since 1996! Well, technically, the track, which is titled ‘Crash 14’, has already been released, as a B-side to 1996’s ‘We Love You’. But lo! It’s since has had a modern-day makeover c/o Menswe@r’s lead singer Johnny Dean and the band’s new member sheet. It’ll be released digitally, on limited edition seven-inch and cassette, on 26 May. Don’t miss it.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | |