Scottish Album Of The Year shortlist announced

By | Published on Thursday 17 May 2012

SAY Award

The shortlist is out for the first ever Scottish Album Of The Year Award, the sort of Scottish version of the Mercury Prize which was launched last month. An industry panel picked nine albums from the long list of 20 for the shortlist, while a 24 hour public vote selected the tenth shortlisted record. And the final ten are…

Bill Wells & Aidan Moffat – Everything’s Getting Older
Conquering Animal Sound – Kammerspiel
Happy Particles – Under Sleeping Waves
King Creosote & Jon Hopkins – Diamond Mine
Mogwai – Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will
Mungo’s Hi Fi – Forward Ever
Remember Remember – The Quickening
Rustie – Glass Swords
Tommy Smith – Karma
Twin Atlantic – Free (public vote winners)

The overall winner will be announced at an event in Glasgow on 19 Jun, with that artist getting £20,000, while each runner up will get £1000.

Commenting on the shortlist, Caroline Parkinson, Director Of Creative Development for Creative Scotland, told CMU: “The SAY Award is a fantastic recognition and celebration of Scotland’s rich and diverse musical talent, as this shortlist confirms. We are a nation of music lovers, and the award is a brilliant way to connect these music lovers with our talented artists. Even better that the public, in this the Year Of Creative Scotland 2012, have had a say in the shortlist”.