Artist News Releases

Some information about the new PJ Harvey album

By | Published on Friday 22 January 2016

PJ Harvey

After teasing us with basically nothing in December, PJ Harvey has now announced proper details of her new album. Would you like to know those details? Good, because otherwise this is all a waste of everyone’s time.

New information

1. The album is called: ‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’
2. The release date is: 15 Apr
3. Number of tracks: Eleven
4. Titles of tracks: The Community Of Hope; The Ministry Of Defence; A Line In The Sand; Chain Of Keys; River Anacostia; Near The Memorials To Vietnam And Lincoln; The Orange Monkey; Medicinals’ The Ministry Of Social Affairs; The Wheel; Dollar, Dollar.

Things we already knew that are probably worth repeating

1. The songs draw on: Several journeys over a four year period to places including Kosovo, Afghanistan and Washington, DC
2. It was recorded: In a room at Somerset House in London, where the public could come and pay to watch

Quote from PJ Harvey

“When I’m writing a song I visualise the entire scene. I can see the colours, I can tell the time of day, I can sense the mood, I can see the light changing, the shadows moving, everything in that picture. Gathering information from secondary sources felt too far removed for what I was trying to write about. I wanted to smell the air, feel the soil and meet the people of the countries I was fascinated with”.

Video featuring clips of two songs, ‘The Community Of Hope’ and ‘The Wheel’