Artist News Releases

Tegan & Sara announced tenth anniversary The Con covers album

By | Published on Thursday 14 September 2017

Tegan & Sara

Tegan & Sara have announced a compilation of covers of songs from their 2007 album ‘The Con’ to mark the tenth anniversary of the record. Ryan Adams, Chvrches, Cyndi Lauper, Grimes, Mykki Blanco and Kelly Lee Owens are among the performers who will appear on the record.

Profits will go to the duo’s charity, The Tegan & Sara Foundation, as will a portion of the profits from a tour to mark the album’s anniversary.

“As the tenth anniversary of ‘The Con’ approached, Sara and I started to brainstorm meaningful ways to celebrate what was easily one of our most important records”, says Tegan. “Almost immediately we established that a tour playing all fourteen songs in a more intimate and stripped-down arrangement would be memorable for our diehard fans. But we also wanted a companion piece that would live on past the anniversary, hence ‘The Con X: Covers’ album was born”.

She continues: “We wanted the proceeds to go to our recently launched Tegan & Sara Foundation, which raises money for self-identified women and girls in the LGBTQ community. With that intention set, we asked fourteen artists who were either outspoken allies of the LGTBQ community or LGBTQ themselves to each cover a song from ‘The Con’, in any fashion they saw fit. All the artists agreed to donate their time and energy to the project and their labels all agreed to waive their fees as well. We are beyond grateful for the contributions of each artist, and we hope fans of ‘The Con’ will be moved by their interpretations”.

Here is the full tracklist:

1. Ruth B – I Was Married
2. Muna – Relief Next to Me
3. Shura – The Con
4. Mykki Blanco – Knife Going In
5. Pvris – Are You Ten Years Ago
6. Ryan Adams – Back in Your Head
7. City and Colour – Hop a Plane
8. Kelly Lee Owens – Soil, Soil
9. Bleachers – Burn Your Life Down
10. Hayley Williams – Nineteen
11. Sara Bareilles – Floorplan
12. Shamir – Like O, Like H
13. Trashique (Grimes & Hana) – Dark Come Soon
14. Chvrches – Call it Off
15. Cyndi Lauper – Back in Your Head (Bonus Track)
16. Bleached – One Second (Bonus Track)
17. Vivek Shraya – I Take All the Blame (Bonus Track)
18. Tegan & Sara – Miami Still (Bonus Track Demo)

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |