Artist News Releases

The Drums announce fourth album, Abysmal Thoughts

By | Published on Friday 3 March 2017

The Drums

The Drums have announced that they will release their fourth album, ‘Abysmal Thoughts’, on 16 Jun, having signed a new record deal with Anti-.

The album sees co-founder Jonny Pierce working alone, writing all twelve songs on the record as well as playing every instrument. He says of creating the record: “I said I wanted to let life happen? Well, the universe listened and life began to fuck me real good! But honestly, I make the worst art when I’m comfortable. The stuff that resonates with me the longest – and that resonates with others – is always the stuff that comes out of my misery”.

“Happiness can be confusing to me”, he continues. “It shows up out of nowhere, and before you can even get used to it, it’s vanished. But abysmal thoughts? I can rely on them – and with the political chaos that is raining down, who knows when these dark feelings will subside?”

Here’s first single, ‘Blood Under My Belt’;