And Finally Artist News Awards

Tina Turner, Jay-Z and Foo Fighters among this year’s Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame inductees

By | Published on Thursday 13 May 2021

Rock N Roll Hall Of Fame

The inductees for this year’s Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame have been announced, with Tina Turner, Carole King, The Go-Go’s, Jay-Z, Foo Fighters and Todd Rundgren set to be honoured later this year.

“This diverse class of talented inductees reflects the Rock Hall’s ongoing commitment to honour artists whose music created the sound of youth culture”, says John Sykes, Chair of the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Foundation. “It will make for an unforgettable live celebration of music in October at this year’s Induction ceremony in Cleveland”.

That half of this year’s inductees are women is something of a turnaround for a ceremony not known for its diversity. Both Turner and King have previously been inducted alongside their former husbands – Ike Turner and Gerry Goffin respectively. So, it’s welcome to see them recognised for their arguably more successful solo careers.

Foo Fighters’ Dave Grohl, of course, is another person who has already been inducted once, with Nirvana having entered the Hall in 2014. Meanwhile, Jay-Z’s addition continues the museum’s decision to recognise rap, having made NWA its first hip hop inductee in 2016.

The induction ceremony will take place on 30 Oct.

READ MORE ABOUT: | | | | | |